Whole Lovin’ Spelt Cookies

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

For starters, I hope you all had a fabulous Easter weekend and you did absolutely nothing but indulge and relax. As I’m not in the slightest bit religious, I take these opportunities to spend some quality time with my parents. For sure, I do this every evening that I’m not at work, but the time is not spent in the same way as we’re all tired from long days, wound up or bored from watching the same old things on the television. We’re also probably all going to nod off around 9pm.

Thankfully, I was given the Saturday off work and I had 3 glorious days to do whatever so we all went shopping to buy each other an Easter gift. I was a very lucky girl this year as I received some new clothing, sandals and a bag for my oncoming holiday to Spain (ee, a week!) On Easter Sunday my mother made a fantastic meal of roast turkey, steamed green beans and carrots, mashed sweet potatoes and Yorkshire pudding boats, and it’s safe to say I held my food baby well for the rest of the day, where we lounged about watching movies. My parents also cut into my chocolate Simnel cake I made in the previous post but unfortunately, I was too stuffed to eat it.

I have spent this bank holiday Monday reorganising my baking supplies and perfecting these spelt cookies. I’m a big fan of using wholegrain flours as I much prefer the deeper, nuttier taste it produces. It’s also much better for you than plain old flour. I packed mine with lots of juicy raisins and hazelnuts, and topped with a mix of sunflower and pumpkin seeds and a drizzle of brandy sauce. You can, of course, make your own brandy sauce if you have the time but I cheated with a jar of the good stuff. I really like the addition of sea salt in cookies, I think the contrast between the salt and sweet is perfect and I pretty much use it in every batch that I make. I understand that you may not like this as much as I do so feel free to leave it out or twerk the recipe!

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Untitled

  • 1 1/2 cups spelt flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup raisins
  •  1/4 cup hazelnuts

 

  • handful of sunflower/pumpkin seeds
  • jar of sweet brandy sauce

1) Preheat the oven to 180C and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

2) In a large bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and the sugar. Next, add in the butter and if you’re using a mixer, mix of low for roughly 2 minutes. You’re looking for a grainy, sand-like texture so it’ll take a bit longer if you’re hand mixing.

3) In a small bowl, whisk together the egg and the vanilla extract.

4) Add the dry ingredients to the egg mixture and stir for about half a minute. Don’t overmix!

5) Using a spatula, fold in the sultanas and hazelnuts until evenly distributed.

6) Using a tablespoon, scoop out 1 spoon worth of dough and form into a ball. Place onto the prepared baking tray, leaving enough room for the cookies to spread out.

7) Bake batch for 15-20 minutes. Remove from oven and cool on a wired rack.

8) Whilst the cookies cool, heat some brandy sauce in a small saucepan until it is hand temperature. You can use as much or as little as you wish so I’ll leave that up to you.

9) Drizzle on the sauce and sprinkle on the mixed seeds. Voilà!

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset

Leave a Reply

