Three Little Bears: Oats and Tea and Raisins

DSCF2056

So, I might have mentioned in a previous post that I love breakfast. In particular, I love oatmeal for it’s versatility and all-round goodness for my body and soul. It lowers your cholesterol AND it tastes wonderful as you can literally do whatever you want with it, you can even make it savoury. So, before the collective sigh of ‘ugh, porridge’ reaches my ears I beg of you to hear me out.

A good breakfast is essential for a healthy lifestyle, and oatmeal is the perfect start as it’s full of nutrients. It’s also full of fibre, so it keeps you fuller for longer (so you snack less), and revs up your metabolism for the day. There’s a lot of choice too, from steel-cut to the rolled oats you find in the ready-made sachets. Go for the steel cut is you can, however if you’re in a rush then go for the rolled variety and pop it into the microwave with your liquid of choice (I either use all water or 1/2 water and 1/2 almond milk). Just be careful of the sugar contents in the sachets you find in the supermarket because they often add all sorts to it, so just keep your eye out and read the labels.

I have heard SO many people claim they hate oats and it’s always the same excuses, like they’re too bland or the texture isn’t spot-on. You’re right, oatmeal is bland by itself and it takes a while to find the right consistency for your palette but you need to play around with it to get what you want from it. You can be as creative as you like where toppings are concerned, from whipped bananas and peanut butter, to my favourite carrot cake oats (cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, shredded carrot, raisins and walnuts).

DSCF2057

For my brekkie today, I made basic oats topped with tea-infused raisins and strawberries. I love infusing fruit with tea, because you can be as versatile with the tea than you can with the oats. I soaked mine with a banana and cinnamon flavoured tea (might I add here that cinnamon is also brilliant for your metabolism), and added a couple of barks to it as well for extra spice. I left this in a jar for a few weeks for the flavours to enhance but you don’t have you wait that long, obviously.

DSCF2054DSCF2048DSCF2050

Untitled1

  • 1 cup raisins
  • tea leaves from 1 bag of your choice (I used banana and cinnamon)
  • 2 cinnamon barks

1) Cut open the tea bag and empty the contents into a mug and make yourself a cuppa (don’t drink it)

2) In a small saucepan set over a medium high heat, add the raisins and pour over the brewed tea. Then, add the 2 barks of cinnamon.

3) Let this simmer for 5 minutes.

4) Remove from the heat and steep for at least 1 hour. When completely cool sprinkle onto your oatmeal or pour into a sterilized jar if not using straight away.

DSCF2052

2 thoughts on “Three Little Bears: Oats and Tea and Raisins

Leave a Reply

