A Healthier Muffin/ Coconut, Honey & Lavender

DSCF2073

SO I went to pizza hut on Tuesday, despite claiming only the day before that I was going to trust myself to be healthier this month. Before I attempt to justify it by convincing myself it was only 3/4 of a pizza and lots of salad and not eating anything else for the rest of the day, I then bought a bag of pick and mix yesterday too. Hey, tomorrow is another day and rules are meant to be broken, so moving swiftly on today’s recipe…

But no, honestly, it happens. True, the majority of people have better willpower than what I do but all is not lost. I was browsing Instagram, and after coming across a very inspirational post I stopped kicking myself for not following out what I said I would. It went something along the lines of ‘love yourself no matter what’ and you know what, eat whatever you want. It’s all about balance, and that pizza hut was counteracted by the 4 hours I spent running around a bar at work, the half a day of house work I did, the 2.5 mile walk to town, and the healthy quinoa stew and tuna salad I ate the next day.

Previously I told you never to deprive yourself of things that are ‘bad’ for you. Yeah a whole bag of sweets or the occasional chocolate bar aren’t exactly healthy, but neither is consuming nothing but egg whites and cardboard chicken breasts and then spending 5 hours at the gym every day to work it back off again. A few bad meals a week is going do absolutely nothing, and your body needs to know what is bad for it for it to know what is good. Balance.

DSCF2074

Now I’ve got that off of my chest I can continue onto the somewhat better topic of muffins. Now, I have previously struggled with baking muffins as I can never get them the right consistency. They’re bullet proof, I could literally throw them at someone’s head and they’d be knocked out within seconds, and not the mention that I can NEVER get them to rise how I imagine them to. But, alas, I have cracked it. I could continue and tell you how I managed to achieve this but I don’t possibly know, the God’s are on my side today.

These are a healthier muffin because one, they’re not the size of bowling balls and two, they’re sweetened with natural honey instead of sugar, and are half wholemeal too. I’m not telling you to eat the whole batch here, but they’re definitely a better alternative to the fat-laden ones you get at your local coffee shop.

DSCF2084

This is the first time I’ve used lavender in a cake before, and I was definitely curious to see how they were going to taste. Before you recoil in disgust they don’t taste like your Nanna’s bar of soap, but in fact a very delicate flavour. You don’t need a lot to reap the benefits (I used 1 tablespoon), and it goes perfectly with the coconut.

DSCF2081DSCF2076DSCF2085DSCF2083DSCF2078

Untitled

RECIPE ADAPTED FROM: P.S IT’S HEALTHY

  • 1/3 cup natural honey
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • egg
  • egg white
  • cup whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 cup plain flour
  • teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon bicarb of soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • cup plain yoghurt
  • tablespoon dried lavender buds
  • tablespoon desiccated coconut

FOR THE ICING

  • either, extra thick Greek yoghurt or a few tablespoons of icing sugar mixed with water
  • a few tablespoons desiccated coconut

1) Preheat the oven to 180C and line a muffin tin with cases.

2) In a mixer, whisk the honey and vegetable oil until combined. Then, add in the egg and the egg white and beat after each addition.

3) In another bowl, sift together the flours,baking powder, bicarb of soda, and salt.

4) Add the flour mix to the eggy mixture. Alternate between the flour and yoghurt but make sure you start and end with the flour. Only mix until it is just combined as you don’t want rock hard muffins.

5) Gently fold in the lavender buds and the coconut and spoon into the muffin cases 3/4 full.

6) Bake in the oven for 25 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean. Remove and leave on a wired rack until completely cooled.

7) Pour either the icing powder mix, or the Greek yoghurt into a small dish. On another dish, scatter over the coconut.

8) When your little muffins have cooled down, dip each into the wet mix and then roll the tops around in the coconut. Repeat with the remaining and then leave to set slightly.

DSCF2080DSCF2075

 

 

3 thoughts on “A Healthier Muffin/ Coconut, Honey & Lavender

Leave a Reply

