Three Little Bears: An Overnight Carrot Cake

DSCF2618

So I haven’t done a proper breakfast post for a while and as we’re rounding off this months recipe collection I thought I’d drop this in there. I found this recipe after reading through Sarah Wilson’s I Quit Sugar book and it was something I really wanted to try because I’m a big fan of overnight oats, and it’s such a refreshing breakfast for when it’s hot outside.

If you haven’t eaten it before, or the thought of eating a bowl of cold oats puts you off, just give it a go because it will definitely surprise you. I usually like combining mine with Greek yogurt and adding about 1/2 teaspoon of chia seeds to make it extra thick and fluffy in the morning but you can pretty much do whatever you want with it as long as you use a 2-to-1 ratio of liquid to oats.

Anyway, I thought the subtly spicy carrot cake flavour of these oats fit in well with our afternoon tea theme (and it really does taste like carrot cake) so I set off to make this before I went to bed last night. I’ve changed the recipe slightly by substituting vanilla powder for almond and leaving my oats chunky instead of blending just because I prefer the texture. You can also top yours with additional coconut cream or yogurt but I chose to leave it out.

HAPPY BREAKFASTING

DSCF2616 DSCF2619DSCF2620DSCF2622

Untitled

RECIPE ADAPTED FROM I QUIT SUGAR | SERVES 1

  • 25g rolled oats
  • 1/2 tablespoon chia seeds
  • 125 ml coconut milk, including the cream on top
  • 1/2 teaspoon almond extract
  • 1/2 large carrot, finely grated
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground ginger
  • pinch each of nutmeg and sea salt
  • 1/4 frozen banana
  • tablespoon crushed walnuts
  • tablespoon coconut flakes
  • toppings of choice, I used a mix of sunflower seeds, sultanas and goji berries

1) Combine the oats, chia seeds, coconut milk and cream, almond, carrot, spices, banana, nuts and coconut flakes. Give it all a mix.

2) Pour into a jar and cover. Refrigerate overnight.

3) In the morning, give it a quick stir and add your toppings. Easy Peasy!

DSCF2615

5 thoughts on “Three Little Bears: An Overnight Carrot Cake

  1. Pingback: Easter Round-Up |

Leave a Reply

