Smores Galore!

DSCF2623

I actually can’t believe it’s August tomorrow, and that we’re already 8 months into the year. 8 bloody months! I have no idea where all of that time has gone.

I visited my granddad last week, he lives in Wales in a little bungalow in the middle of the mountains with a giant waterfall. He also lives on a caravan and camping site, it’s a quaint one and the place actually makes me want to spend the night in a tent. I’m not all too fond of camping, it brings back many terrible memories spent at festivals being incredibly grotty. This place, however, is picture perfect (and clean!) Last week it was jam packed full of families enjoying BBQs against the setting sun and I was filled with the urge to go and join them.

I used to go camping with my parents when I was little and we often have the burner on during the summer nights. I have fond memories of piercing make-shift skewers (twigs, hygienic!) with giant, fluffy marshmallows and toasting them over flames and the smell of them toasting is one I’d never tire of.

DSCF2629

I’ve been craving them since I returned home, but I’m not too fussed about eating them straight out of the bag. I want the real deal, and it doesn’t get more real than the smore. For those who aren’t familiar, it’s an all-American badboi treat consisting of marshmallow, chocolate and graham crackers (basically digestives). It’s such a tradition that they even have their own National Smores Day, and as it’s coming up in a week I gathered this was a good recipe to start the month with.

It doesn’t take a genius to construct a smore, certainly not something to blog about, so I thought I’d make this even more delightful by transforming them into brownies. Go big or go home. You’ve been warned.

DSCF2631DSCF2627DSCF2633DSCF2632DSCF2634

LOOK AT THE LAYERS. DELICIOUS LAYERS.

DSCF2637

Untitled

FOR THE BUTTERY BISCUIT BASE

  • 200g disgestive biscuits (about 3/4 of a pack)
  • just under 1/2 cup butter

FOR THE BROWNIE

  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 250g dark chocolate (I used Bournville)
  • eggs
  • 2/3 cup caster sugar
  • 1/2 cup plain flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • tablespoon cocoa powder (I used Bournville)

FOR THE TOPPING

  • bag o’ marshmallows

1) Preheat the oven to 200C and line a tin with foil so that there is excess overhang. This is to ensure that the marshmallow doesn’t melt all over the inside of your oven because you don’t wanna wash that stuff off.

2) For the biscuit bit, or the ‘graham cracker’ layer, crush the digestives in a bowl with the end of a rolling pin until there’s no big chunks left. Melt the butter in the microwave and then pour over the biscuits. Stir to combine and set aside.

3) For the brownies, melt the chocolate in a heatproof bowl over simmering water or in the microwave and then leave to cool slightly. Put the eggs into the bowl of a mixer and mix with the oil and sugar for about 5 minutes, until pale and fluffy. In another bowl, sift the flour, baking powder and cocoa together. Add the melted chocolate to the egg mixture, mix, and then gently add the flour. Stir until it has JUST combined or you’ll get more a cake-like texture instead of fudgey goodness. Pour the brownie mixture into the prepared tin and then top with the crumbled biscuit. Bake for 20 minutes.

4) For the topping, place marshmallows over the top of your now-cooked brownie. Leave in the oven for a further 2-3 minutes to soften them up. Remove and, with a knife, quickly (!) smooth over. I say quickly because the marshmallows will harden up and they’ll be impossible to work with. With the oven set to a grill, pop the brownies back under until the marshmallow gets all toasty. Keep an eye out so you don’t set the whole thing alight though. Alternatively, blast with kitchen blowtorch and pretend you’re a boss.

5) Leave to cool completely before attempting to cut into slices. Have patience because I guarantee it won’t work if you cut it whilst it’s still warm. I also recommend slicing with a heated knife to, It’ll make it easier.

DSCF2635

3 thoughts on “Smores Galore!

Leave a Reply

