Post Summer Blues

DSCF3080

It was only a few posts ago that I was in disbelief that it was August already, and now it’s September 1st. Since then I’ve been down to Plymouth for a week and celebrated my birthday, and it’s gone so quick that I don’t actually remember living through any of it. I hope you’ve all felt like this too, and I’ve not just been in some crazy trance for the past 31 days.

I’m mourning summer. I’m mourning those really bright, warm, sunny mornings and going out without 89 layers on. I’m not only just missing it though, I’ve been feeling this throughout the whole month of August where, on some days, we were experiencing all four seasons in the space of an hour. I mean, what do I wear? Do I need a jumper, a coat? Should I be carrying around my brolly or my factor 50? Goddamit.

We were promised sunshine and warmth the first week of September. Now, not to jump to conclusions but it’s 11am on the 1st and I’ve already witness about a days worth of rain already so I’m taking matters into my own hands and bringing back summer. I’m doing this with lemons.

DSCF3070

I know looaaaddss of people that really like the lemon drizzle loaf you get in the coffee chains, but I say you know nothing because homemade tastes 100% better than that crap. Do you know how much processed shit they stick in that cake? There’s ingredients in it that I’ve never even heard of, let alone pronounce. Now, I’m not saying my lemon loaf is exactly healthy but there is no traces of titanium dioxide or beta carotene colour. I don’t know either.

I settled for a warm slice with my cuppa tea this morning and one bite bought back dreams of the sun on my face, so I think I succeeded in brining back the sun. Even if it is only in my head.

DSCF3075DSCF3073DSCF3081DSCF3072DSCF3083DSCF3079

Untitled

FOR THE CAKE

  • 3/4 cup caster sugar
  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter
  • eggs
  • cup plain flour
  • 1/3 teaspoon baking powder
  • zest of lemons

FOR THE DRIZZLE

  • cup icing sugar
  • juice of lemons, use the ones for the cake
  • teaspoon orange blossom extract

1) Grease and line a loaf tine and preheat your oven to 180C

2) In the bowl of your mixer, or by hand, cream together the butter and sugar (3 minutes by mizer/ 5 minutes by hand)

3) Crack in the eggs, one at a time and mix after each addition. Mix well to combine.

4) Sift together the flour and baking powder. Stir in the lemon zest. Add this to the wet mixture and mix until just combined.

5) Pour the batter into your loaf tin and bake for 35 minutes.

6) Whilst the loaf bakes, make the drizzle icing. In a bowl, sift in the icing sugar and then add the juice from the 2 lemons and orange extract.

7) The loaf is done when a skewer inserted into the middle comes out clean. Poke holes all the way through the cake and then pour over the drizzle.

8) Leave to cool in the tin completely before removing or you’ll get a river of a thousand (2) lemons running through your kitchen.

DSCF3082

4 thoughts on “Post Summer Blues

Leave a Reply

