Honey, I’m Home

DSCF3674

Don’t worry, I haven’t forgotten you all. I’ve in fact been away on holiday, cruisin’ around the Med on a very large, and very busy ship. I feel more knackered now than I did before I left so I’m definitely going to enjoy my last whole week off before I start my new job on Monday (!)

I adore this time of year, September is my favourite month so I’m glad I’m catching the last glimpse of it before the new month. Everything about autumn excites me, and I can finally start to wear my 70 strong piece knitwear collection and eat all the stodgy food which I love so much. Big hearty stews, sticky toffee puddings and I can now eat oatmeal every single day without burning up. Like today.

Autumn is the time for apples, and seeing as I ate about 50 of these whilst on holiday, I thought I’d return the favour and bake some for my breakfast. Along with being super tasty, they’re also super simple and you can enjoy them for dessert as well if you didn’t have the time in the morning. They’re so versatile, you could make them with a crumble topping and serve with vanilla ice cream or simply with spoonfuls of yogurt. My belly was calling for something more substantial so I ate mine atop thick oats and peanut butter. PEANUT BUTTER.

DSCF3677DSCF3676DSCF3665DSCF3675DSCF3670DSCF3672DSCF3673

Untitled

FOR ONE

  • Bramley/ crab apple
  • a small handful of raisins
  • large prune
  • a small handful of mixed nuts/ seeds
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon honey, and more for drizzling

1) Preheat the oven to 180C.

2) In a bowl mix the raisins, prune, nuts and seeds with the cinnamon and 1/2 teaspoon honey.

3) Core the apple and score around the middle. Place on a baking tray and spoon in the spiced raisin mix into the middle.

4) Drizzle over honey and bake for 35-40 minutes until the apple has cooked all the way through.

5) Serve however you wish!

DSCF3671

2 thoughts on “Honey, I’m Home

Leave a Reply

