Garibaldi

DSCF3686

My mother doesn’t like breakfast very much. She especially doesn’t like it before her 3 mile walk to work on a morning which is fair enough I suppose. I don’t believe in not eating the first meal of the day, the thought of missing it sends me into some frenzied panic, so for some time I liked to spend my morning nagging my mum to take something with her. This was some time ago, and now she takes a fancy to those breakfast biscuits, and the ‘cereal’ bars that are full of god knows what. It’s a start.

Now we have boxes upon boxes stacked up in the cupboard, literally every single variety of Go Ahead bars available, and I still can’t see the appeal. I don’t think my mum does either but they’re always on offer so the matter of taste goes out of the window. They’re dry and you can yogurt coat them as much all you want but they still taste like a piece of dust-ridden cardboard. The worst part? The Garibaldi is also known as the ‘squashed fly’ biscuit, because of raisins in between the two layers of dough. Nice.

Anyway, I checked the cupboard the other day and her stock has dropped so I don’t believe that they’ve been reduced this week. I’m taking this as a sign, so I’m making my own, jazzed up ones. I couldn’t even bring myself to cut them into their recognisable rectangles, so now they’re circle. And covered in coconut. And chocolate.

They’re still ugly.

DSCF3681DSCF3683DSCF3685DSCF3682DSCF3684DSCF3687

Untitled

ADAPTED FROM DELIA’S RECIPE

  • 110g wholemeal flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • a pinch of sea salt
  • 25g unsalted butter
  • 25g caster sugar
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons milk
  • 50g raisins
  • egg white, beaten to brush
  • granulated sugar, to sprinkle
  • a few chunks of milk chocolate, melted
  • desiccated coconut

1) Preheat the oven to 190C and line a baking tray with parchment paper.

2) In a bowl, rub together the flour, salt and butter until you get a crumby consistency. Add the sugar and mix.

3) Add the milk until the dough starts to stick together and leaves the bowl clean. Turn out onto a floured work surface.

4) Roll out and sprinkle raisins, or whatever dried fruit you wanted, over one half of the dough. Fold over the other half and roll out again.

5) Cut into circles (or rectangles if you wish) and place onto the baking tray.

6) Brush with the egg white and then sprinkle with coconut and a little more sugar. Bake in the oven for 12-15 minutes or until they are golden brown. Leave to cool on a wired rack.

7) Once cooled, prepare the chocolate/coconut spread. Carefully melt the chocolate over a simmering pan of water and then add as much desiccated coconut as you’d like. I used quite a lot because I really like the flavour but feel free to adjust. Stir well to combine and then carefully dip each bottom of the biscuit into the mixture.

8) Once again, leave to cool and set completely on a wired rack.

Leave a Reply

