Eat Yo’ Greens

DSCF3696

I often find myself stuck in the lunch rut. The same old sandwich, pints and pints of soup, yesterday’s leftovers, you know the one. Most days I lack the will to go out to the shops and buy all the ingredients to make myself an outstanding meal, It’s not that I don’t want to but sometimes it’s just easier to break out whatever I’ve got in the fridge. Which sometimes isn’t an awful lot.

I’m pretty backwards when it comes to meal times. I eat my biggest meal in the morning, which would be my breakfast, and then a slightly smaller lunch. When I say ‘slightly smaller’, I mean a smidgen because I have a massive appetite. My smallest meal will always be dinner because I struggle with feeling full on an evening. I’m saying all this because you might think this recipe is pretty heavy for a lunch time, not heavy per say actually, but you could consider it a proper meal.

Getting back to my first point of being a lazy arse and not leaving to house to buy food, I started to research recipes using store cupboard staples and all of the odds and ends that you’ll find in your fridge. They’re also recipes that you could swap and play around with ingredients, so it’s not the end of the world when you get half way down the list and realise you haven’t got some saffron or something ridiculous.We always have a good supply of eggs, also some form of cream cheese and a whole drawer of salad leaves. That’s a start. I’ve always also got flour on hand, and an abundance of spices, so that’s even better. The best bit is reading through the small tower of recipe books and finding a recipe that includes all of the above and little else so here is the beginnings of lunch.

DSCF3689

Sophie Dahl’s recipe for stuffed blini and scrambled eggs is a winner, and it’s SO versatile. Her version calls for ricotta cheese and parsley but you can use whatever you wanted really. Cheddar and mustard is another combination she suggests, which sounds amazing, but I like more of a kick so out came the garam masala. To cool it down a little, I topped it with some cottage cheese and loaded it with half a bag of spinach. I like spinach. It’s a really good lunch, not too heavy but doesn’t leave a gaping hole in your stomach in half hours time, and it’s really tasty so why not.

DSCF3691DSCF3695DSCF3697DSCF3692DSCF3694DSCF3698

Untitled

BASED ON SOPHIE DAHL’S STUFFLED BLINI AND SCRAMBLED EGG RECIPE (FROM SEASON TO SEASON)

TO SERVE 1

for the blini

  • 1/4 cup wholemeal flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • a pinch of salt
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1/8 cup cheese of choice, I just used some cheddar
  • small handful of herbs or spices, I used chilli flakes
  • egg white (save the yolk for later)
  • a knob of butter or oil

for the scrambled eggs

  • yolk, saved from earlier
  • whole egg
  • 1/2 teaspoon garam masala
  • small handful of spinach
  • a dash of milk
  • knob of butter
  • salt and pepper

to serve

  • a spoonful of cottage/ cream cheese
  • spinach leaves
  • seasoning like pepper, chilli etc. whatever you want.

1) In a bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder and salt. Add the milk and mix well to make a batter. Add the cheese, spices or herbs and then mix again.

2) In a clean mixing bowl, whisk egg white until it forms soft peaks. Fold it gently into the batter and try not to over mix it.

3) In a small frying pan, heat butter or oil and then spoon in the batter. Cook for 3/4 minutes or until little bubbles appear. Turn over and continue cooking for a further minute.

4) To make the scrambled eggs, crack into a small bowl and season according to taste. Stir in the garam masala and tip in the spinach leaves. You can tear them up if it makes it easier.

5) In a pan, gently heat the butter and add the eggs. Stir continuously for a minute. Remove the pan from the heat but continue stirring the eggs.

6) To serve, plate the blini and  top with a mound of cottage cheese. Cover with the scrambled eggs and season with pepper. I topped mine with more chilli flakes and then piled on some fresh spinach.

One thought on “Eat Yo’ Greens

Leave a Reply

