Cake & Bake Show 2014

DSCF3739

I promised a long, lengthy post about my trip to The Cake & Bake Show held in Earls Court last weekend so here it is. Prepare yourself.

My dearest pal bought me tickets to the Sunday showing as a belated birthday present, and it’s safe to say I thoroughly enjoyed myself. A whole room chock-a-block full of cupcakes, brownies, cookies and every sweet treat you could possibly think of, who wouldn’t enjoy themselves?! We finally got inside after lengthy run around of the whole building searching for a cash point (I got too excited and forgot about money), and so began our journey to sugar mountain. Like Charlie and his singular unicorn.

HERE ARE MY HIGHLIGHTS

DSCF3750

  • I’m not the biggest fudge fan. I mean, don’t get me wrong, sometimes I get this overwhelming craving for it but it’s gotta be right. It’s gotta be soft and not grainy, and it must not taste of nothing but sugar. The fudge at Yum Yum Tree Fudge were none of those things, and had a wonderful array of flavours like English Rose, Strawberry & Cream, Mango (made with real Mango!) and my personal favourite, Peaches & Cream. What’s even better is that it’s all vegetarian, gluten free and they even make their own diabetic fudge too.
  • The sausage rolls at Coopers, my god. I don’t even like sausage rolls but there was not a grey bit of floppy ‘sausage’ in sight, no hint of rock hard pastry either. Their flavours range from the original ‘Oinker’, Indian Spice and Chutney, Veggie ones, to the bestselling Pork, Shropshire Blue and Onion. They even have a special one for each month, October’s being Pork, Lava Bread, Welsh Mustard and Caerphilly Cheese. !!!

DSCF3751

  • The Brownie Bar has popped up at most of the foodie festivals I’ve been to, and It’s quite right to as well because LOOK AT THEM ALL. I resisted the urge this time because I was saving myself for something I hadn’t tried before, but the Malteser one is a must.

DSCF3754

  • The bready delights at Karaway BakeryThis is a bakery that’s definitely proud of it’s Russian and Lithuanian roots and it’s so clear to see it in their breads. They had a fantastic array of rye, almost too pretty to eat, and I would have bought the lot if I didn’t have to carry it all home on the train.

DSCF3766PicMonkey CollagePicMonkey Collage1PicMonkey Collage2PicMonkey Collage3

  • Would you believe that all these were cakes?? They were honestly stunning, and they were bought to us by the Culprit Cake Club where all the up and coming skills were being showcased. Obviously my favourite was the GBBO inspired one, because no bake show is complete without a garishly pink, Mary Berry riding a one-winged unicorn cake.

DSCF3810

  • All of these glorious looking raw and organic cake slices at Mr Prempy’s. This was originally the place I wanted to buy my sweet treat for the day from, however I was all sugared out at this point so I felt slightly disappointed in not being able to try them. Each cake were completely wholesome and listed all of the ingredients on the slates above them, and out of the 7 available, the ‘Mothercake’ was calling to me most (dates, ground almonds, coconut oil, desiccated coconut, maple syrup, cocoa powder, and cocoa nibs) *Sigh*
  • The Biscuit Butter stall. I really like spreads. I like biscuit spreads even more. They even sold the whole biscuits, but I had to take control of myself in fear that I’d scoff the whole lot. They made their own apple butter too!

PicMonkey Collage6

  • Allllll of the cupcakes at Crumbs & Doilies were a massive highlight. I was looking forward to seeing this before arriving (exhibitor list stalking) and I wasn’t disappointed. They sold loadsss of different flavoured ‘big’ cupcakes (Buttered Popcorn, Blueberry Cheesecake, Bacon & Maples, Lemon Mess, Earl Grey, Rolo, Cookies & Cream, Mexican Hot Chocolate, and Banoffee to name a few!) They also sold them in miniature size which were adorable, but let’s face it, not enough for my monstrous appetite. I bought a Pumpkin flavoured one and Amy chose the Mojito. I unfortunately couldn’t manage mine, but my parents were very appreciative!

PicMonkey Collage7

  • I was SO tempted by the giant cookie sandwiches being sold at Ms Cupcakeespecially the red velvet one but, once again, I bought out my iron-clad resistance technique of talking myself out of it. I regret it entirely. I also regret not buying one of those Speculoos cupcakes, and the Ferrero Rocher one, anddd all of the brownies.

DSCF3789

  • Oh look, more cupcakes! I wish I had the stomach, and money, to buy all of these treats over at Buttercup Cake Shop. They were honestly beautiful and I got some serious frosting envy looking at them all.

PicMonkey Collage5

  • The London Dessert Collective. This was another exhibitor that I did my research on before visiting, and they make the most stunning desserts using only the finest ingredients. You can tell they use the finest ingredients by the look of gleeful serenity I am possessing whilst diving into my Black Forest cupcake (I’m glad I saved myself for this.) The sponge to frosting ratio was perfect, the cake was super rich and chocolately and had a whole cherry in the middle too. I enjoyed it so much so that I covered myself and all of my possessions in crumbs and chocolate shards.

PicMonkey Collage8PicMonkey Collage9

  • So we definitely needed a walk after devouring our cupcakes so we took a mooch around the Cake Competition tables. The top 3 photographs were of cakes entered into the junior category, some of them being created by 10 YEAR OLDS. What the hell is this sorcery? I had to swiftly move on because my jealously levels were at an all time high. But seriously, some of the most creative and skill full bakes I’ve ever seen in my life.

So yes, here concludes my highlights of this years show. Here were tons and tons more but I’m getting slightly sugar high just thinking about it all, but I’d visit over and over again because it was such a good day out. Not only were there ample opportunities to have a nibble on offcuts, there were also loads of live bake offs, sugar craft classics, competitions and plenty of celeb bakers wondering around. If you missed it this year then look out for it’s return in 2015!

6 thoughts on “Cake & Bake Show 2014

Leave a Reply

