Pumpkin Season

DSCF4003

I am a sucker for a novelty, I really am. October means one thing and one thing only, and that’s pumpkin flavoured everything. EVERYTHING. If something says there’s pumpkin in it then I’ll be the first to buy it, even if I’m not particularly fond of it. I don’t know what’s wrong with me, I think I have a problem.

Anyway, every year I’ll insist on buying the largest, most perfect one only to hack it to pieces, roast and blend it into oblivion to make every meal a pumpkin flavoured one. I’m so glad they’re only really available during this month because I reckon I’d turn into one eventually.

I mean, I could buy that canned stuff but why when I can spend a whole afternoon trying to avoid cutting my fingers off, picking out every single slimy seed, scooping out it’s insides and then covering myself and the kitchen in a shower of orange pulp? I do it because it’s kind of a tradition and, despite all the faffing about, there’s nothing better than seeing all my hard work pay off afterwards. Expect a few recipes, just sayin’.

DSCF4004DSCF4005DSCF4006DSCF4009DSCF4010DSCF4012

Untitled

1 GIANT PUMPKIN MAKES ROUGHLY 15 CUPS

  • giant pumpkin

1) Carefully, cut the pumpkin in half and (I’m so sorry) pick out all of the seeds and save. You can add them to granola, use them for toppings and roast them with lots of added flavours, so don’t throw them away.

2) Using a spoon, scoop out all the webbed bits inside.

3) Cut each half into quarters so you end up with 8 large pieces.

4) Preheat the oven to 170C and place the pumpkin on a baking tray. Bake for 50 minutes- 1 hour until it’s tender enough for a fork to go through.

5) Allow to cool enough to handle and then, with a knife, cut off the skin. Cut the pumpkin into 1 inch pieces and place into a blender.

6) Pulse until smooth and until no big pieces remain. You may need to do this in batches because it makes A LOT.

7) Store into tupperware boxes or ziplock bags and pop into the freezer until ready to use.

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Season

Leave a Reply

