Dessert For Breakfast?

DSCF4016

I promised pumpkin recipes so here is the first. I’m sorry it’s not some full-out pumpkin masterpiece but I’m popping away for the weekend and I’ve had lots of work on so I can’t be pottering around the kitchen for too long. It’s also nearing the end of chocolate week so this fits in perfectly because who doesn’t want chocolate for breakfast, right?

I eat oatmeal whatever time of year it is, sometimes I eat it for lunch, sometimes I eat it for dinner when I’m feeling lazy. However, tucking into something warm and stodgy during these colder months is something I find tremendously comforting. I usually make pumpkin swirled brownies around Halloween time but it was only last week that I made some salted caramel ones so I thought I’d turn it into one of my porridge experiments, and It’s safe to say It turned out pretty damn fine.

If the thought of puréed pumpkin in your oats turns your stomach then you’re just going to have to trust me with this one and make it anyway. It’s wonderfully spiced and fills it out a bit too, so they’re extra thick and creamy. PLUS, you’ve got the added extra of the chocolate layer which is even better. This recipe is incredibly filling which is perfect to fuel me through a shift at work, and it’s also a nice indulgent treat for a weekend brekkie.

DSCF4015DSCF4022DSCF4024DSCF4027

Untitled

SERVES 1

  • 1/4 cup pumpkin purée
  • drizzle of honey
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon, plus extra to sprinkle
  • 1/2 teaspoon mixed spice
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • a pinch of salt
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1 1/4 cups liquid of choice (I use water because I don’t like milk)
  • teaspoon chocolate peanut butter, plus more to add as a topping
  • tiny handful of granola, to sprinkle

1) In a saucepan over a high heat, caramelize the puréed pumpkin with the honey for 3/4 minutes and then add your spices and salt.

2) Pour in the oats and whatever liquid you’re using, give it a stir, and lower the temperature to a medium heat and leave to thicken to your preference. I like mine quite thick so I leave it between 5-8 minutes.

3) When done, spoon out half of the mixture into a bowl. Add the chocolate peanut butter to the remaining oats, give it a mix until thoroughly combined, and then spoon it on top.

4) I sprinkled on some more cinnamon, granola and extra peanut spread on mine but you can top it with whatever you like.

Leave a Reply

