Cheeeeeesecake

DSCF4045

Right so, I don’t actually think I’ve made it through October without mentioning pumpkin in every single one of my posts. Today is no exception. It’d be quite difficult to avoid it.

Cheesecake is one of those desserts I like to indulge in when I go out for a meal (and you can’t go out for meal without a pudding, right?) I don’t really eat it when I’m at home,but it makes the whole cheesecake sensation more wonderful when it gets put down in front of me. Oh sweet cheesecake. I’ve said cheesecake way too many times.

Of course I’d be making a pumpkin version, and of courseee I’d be spicing it with lots and lots of cinnamon because I love cinnamon. I also made the base with a whole pack of ginger nuts because I am a ginger nut and they’re better than Digestives. I’m feeling a little hyped this morning, I kind of feel like I’m floating on a cloud of sugar, but that’s nothing to do with the fact I’ve been picking my way through this cake for breakfast. Nope, nothing at all.

DSCF4046DSCF4051DSCF4047DSCF4050DSCF4052

Untitled

  • 250g pack of ginger nut biscuits
  • 60g butter
  • 1 1/2 cups pumpkin puree
  • cup caster sugar
  • 450g cream cheese (usually about two packs)
  • teaspoon ground cinnamon, more to sprinkle
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • eggs

1) Preheat the oven to 170C and grease a loose-bottomed cake tin.

2) Bash the biscuits into crumbs and then heat the butter in a pan over a low heat. When it’s melted, tip in the crumbled biscuits and mix until it’s all combined. Next, press the mixture into an even layer in the bottom of the pan and press into the sides.

3) In a mixing bowl combine the cream cheese, pumpkin, sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg until thoroughly incorporated and it’s as smooth as you can get it.

4) In another bowl, beat the 4 eggs together and then fold this into the cream cheese mixture. Pour all of it into the tin and then bake for 90 minutes. You’ll know it’s done when the surface is set but the middle is still wobbly, the edge of the cake should be coming away from the side of the tin slightly too.

5) Remove from the oven and leave to cool in the tin completely. When this is done, turn it out onto a plate, cover with cling film and leave to set in the fridge overnight.

4 thoughts on “Cheeeeeesecake

  1. This looks amazing. I love love love anything ginger and I love pumpkin too. My boyfriend is a huge cheesecake fan so I have a feeling I’ll be making this at some point soon. I’ve bought a lovely big pumpkin to purée and many portioned tubs to see me through the year 🙂 excited to try this, thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

