Monster Cookies For Your Little Monsters (& You!)

DSCF4055

I am in denial that it is the end of October on Friday, absolute denial. It can’t possibly be? I’ve been saying it for ages that I’ll start preparing myself for Christmas after I’ve relished in the delights of Halloween and Bonfire Night (my favourite times of year), still in the mindset that these two dates are WEEKS away. They’re not, they’re literally in a few days. Oh god.

I’ve always loved Halloween, yet I’ve never really celebrated it in a massive way. I think the most extravagant I’ve been is when I dressed up as a witch when I was about 7 to go to my neighbours party. I am wild, I know. Last year I baked about a million cupcakes for friends at my old work, I remember carrying them all on the bus with me (the cakes, not my friends) and explaining to the old lady sat next to me why there were quite a few men dressed in heels and garters tottering about (Rocky Horror was on at the theatre) . The year before I spent it watching said Rocky Horror Show, and the year before that I carved Harry Potters face into a pumpkin whilst stuffing my face with treacle toffee.

My favourite memory will also be one when I was extremely little. My mum used to work night shifts at the bakery of a supermarket so I spent evenings tucked up with my dad. It’s a sort-of tradition in my house to watch Nightmare Before Christmas on Halloween, it’s something we’ve done ever since I remember, and my dad would record me dancing around the living room in some charming pajamas and singing my heart out to it. Mum would then return home to watch the videos and it’s stuck with us since.

DSCF4054

Obviously festivities aren’t only for the little ones, Halloween is something all generations get involved in, but it’s nice to get the kids involved in some spooky baking. These cookies are the first thing I had ever baked because they’re easy and reaallllyyyy good. I usually just make them vanilla flavoured and use normal peanut M&Ms but I thought I’d jazz them up slightly and take advantage of all the novelty sweets going about so today they’re chocolate flavoured and crammed full of pumpkin-coloured peanutty candies. The recipe makes quite a few of these cookies ( 16 giant ones) but you could always make smaller ones and give them out to trick or treaters for an alternative to choccies OR you could just eat them all yourselves.

DSCF4060DSCF4059DSCF4061DSCF4056DSCF4062

Untitled

BASED ON LEMON SUGAR’S RECIPE

  • cups plain flour
  • 2 1/4 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • cup butter
  • cup chocolate peanut butter
  • cup granulated sugar
  • 2/3 cup dark brown sugar
  • eggs, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • Halloween themed sprinkles
  • treat bag of Halloween peanut M&Ms

1) In a bowl, mix together the butter, chocolate peanut butter, sugar, and brown sugar until thoroughly combined.

2) Next, add the eggs. Beat generously after each addition.

3) In another bowl sift together the flour, baking soda, and salt. Slowly add this to the wet mixture until just combined. Do not over beat.

4) Fold through as many sprinkles you want and then add the oats. Refrigerate for half hour.

5) Preheat the oven to 170C and line a baking tray with parchment paper. Once the dough has chilled, scoop out 1-2 tablespoons of mixture and place evenly on the tray. Top with 2/3 peanut M&Ms and more sprinkles. Bake the cookies in batches, I did about 4 at a time, because they expand whilst cooking.

6) Bake for 12-15 minutes or until they have slightly browned. Remove from the oven and leave to set STILL ON the baking tray for about 10 minutes or else they’ll crumble as you transfer them and you’ll end up a sobbing mess on the floor because all your work has gone out of the window.

7) Leave to cool completely on a wire rack.

DSCF4053

OooohOoooohhh. Ahem.

5 thoughts on “Monster Cookies For Your Little Monsters (& You!)

Leave a Reply

