A Tummy Full Of Honey…

DSCF4117

So, in my last post I was writing how Christmas appears to be getting earlier and earlier, and how I was trying to find the middle ground and enjoying the festivities from afar. Well, it’s getting difficult as it’s almost impossible to avoid now. It’s everywhere. What do I do? Pretty much every one I have spoken to has finished their gift shopping, even WRAPPED THEM. I mean, that’s some organised shit but I haven’t even stepped foot into a shop with the notion of buying presents yet. I am sticking to my plan. I will not be pressured by all those pre-rush discounts and the gloriously glittery, enticing window displays and the carols blasting out of every shop door I walk past. I will not.

Today’s recipe was inspired by The Hungry Mum‘s recreation of Donna Hay’s honey cake, after I lusted after it for a good few days. She sold it too me by her wonderful description of watching, her (brilliant) words, ‘the hypnotic sensation of honey oozing from a spoon and falling lushly into a bowl of cake batter’. Er, yes please. I wanted to put some sort of twist on it though, and to prove that I’m not a Scrooge (I’m not, I love Christmas!) I made a festive version. The holidays aren’t complete in our household without a big fire, mulled spices and a tumbler of whisky so here’s to sticking to the plan!

DSCF4123DSCF4122DSCF4118DSCF4120DSCF4121

Untitled

  • cup vegetable oil
  • cup honey
  • 1/2 cup golden caster sugar
  • just under 1/2 cup dark brown sugar
  • eggs
  • cup gingerbread coffee, brewed
  • 1/2 cup orange juice
  • 1/2 cup whisky of choice
  • cups plain flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • teaspoon bicarb of soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • teaspoon ground ginger
  • ball of stem ginger, chopped

 

  • 227ml tub of double cream
  • teaspoon whisky
  • cup dried sultanas, cranberries, flaked almonds and dried apple pieces (to sprinkle)

1) Preheat your oven to 160C and line two baking tins with parchment paper.

2) In a bowl, whisk together the oil, honey, caster sugar, brown sugar, eggs, coffee, orange juice and whisky until thoroughly combined.

3) In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, bicarb, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg and ground ginger. Gently tip this into the wet mixture and then fold in the stem ginger. Mix so that it all just combined.

4) Pour half of the mixture into one tin, and the remaining into the other and bake for 1 hour. They’ll be down when a skewer comes out JUST clean, there might still be a few crumbs on it but that’s okay. Leave to cool in the tin for a few minutes before removing before the cake needs to set a little.

5) Turn out onto a wire rack and leave to cool completely.

6) To make the whisky cream simply combine the two ingredients until thick and smooth. Take out a small handful of mixed fruit and nut and then tip the remaining into the cream. Fold through.

7) When the cakes are cooled, smoother half of the cream onto the top of one and then sandwich the other cake onto that. Scoop out the remaining cream, smooth out and scatter on the rest of the fruit. This cake tastes best when eaten the day after because the whisky gets absorbed into the sponge a bit more but don’t worry if you can’t wait that long!

7 thoughts on “A Tummy Full Of Honey…

Leave a Reply

