Sunday Baking

DSCF4139

Sorry for my brief absence, I’ve had quite a busy week. I’ve actually had half of a social life this week and I am not going to pass up on that. Being a recluse is a bore. But anyway, I have returned with a biggg cinnamon and ginger scented, sugar crusted coffee cake for you to whip up and enjoy after your roast dinner. I actually have this weekend off work, the entire weekend! It’s not very often that this happens, I can probably count on one hand how many times this has happened in the last 5 years so I’m taking advantage of it.

I had a wonderful day yesterday with my good friend where we took the train to Shrewsbury, had a wander around in the crisp cold, shopped and had one of the best lunch dates ever. I then returned home, sleepy and full, popped on some Christmas songs and lazed about in bed for the rest of the evening. I don’t usually bake at the weekend because my mother is very protective of the state of her kitchen, as am I as I HATE mess but I just avoid the whole fiasco by keeping it to weekdays. However, I have a free house so I decided to treat my parents to a big hunk of warm cake and a cooked dinner for when they come home and I must say I enjoyed the whole peaceful ritual of baking on a Sunday morning.

DSCF4134DSCF4136DSCF4142DSCF4140DSCF4144DSCF4145

Untitled

ORIGINAL RECIPE FROM PASTRY AFFAIR

FOR THE CAKE

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, room temp
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • cup yogurt, I used The Collective Dairy’s ‘Xmas Pud
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • teaspoon baking soda
  • teaspoon baking powder
  • cups whole grain flour

FOR THE TOPPING

  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • tablespoon powdered espresso
  • 1/2 teaspoon gingerbread instant coffee, I used Beanies

1) Preheat your oven to 180C and grease and line a cake tin.

2) In a mixer, beat together the butter and sugar for 3 minutes (or 5 if you’re hand mixing). Whisk the eggs in one at a time and then add the yogurt. Stir so it has all combined.

3) Next, fold in the salt, baking soda, baking powder and flour until you get a thick, sticky mixture.

4) For the topping, mix together all of the ingredients until thoroughly combined.

5) Pour half of the cake batter into the prepared tin and then sprinkle over half of the topping mix. Pour over the remaining cake mix, smooth over and then the remaining topping.

6) Bake for 45-50 minutes or until a skewer inserted into the middle comes out clean. Leave to cool in the tin for 20 minutes before removing to cool completely on a wire rack.

15 thoughts on “Sunday Baking

  1. The gingerbread expresso encrusted coffee cake looks extremely delicious. Thanks so much for sharing and making my mouth water. I hope I’ll find time to make it!

  2. Another gorgeous bake, amazing! This looks incredible. I can single-handedly blame you for the undoing of my diet 😉 who am I kidding?! winter is not the time for slimming. The yogurt looks so good, where did you get it? Super excited about the coffee too. I feel our taste buds are one of a kind. Is that too weird?! haha

    1. Thanks Holly 🙂 Winter is definitely not a time for slimming haha! I got the yogurt from Co-Op and they also do a spiced pumpkin flavour too and that’s equally as wonderful. Not weird at all!

      1. I had a look online and plan on visiting my nearest Co-op soon, yum! My tesco stock beanies but not the hazelnut & cinnamon or the gingerbread, what are they thinking?!

Leave a Reply

