Three Little Bears/ Festive Gingerbread Granola

DSCF4179

Don’t worry guys, I haven’t disappeared and I have no plans of going anywhere any time soon! This time of year is always incredibly busy for me and it’s hard to fit in any solid baking and blogging in between work, seeing loved ones and watching all of the Christmas films (I’m getting there). I’ll definitely be back to my normal updates after the festive period though so don’t give up on me, please!

I hope you’re all having a lovely December thus far, I am totally relishing in all the festivities (except for the shopping, ugh) and with just over a week to go I am a thoroughly excited little elf. I’ve been putting up the decorations, making some mince pies, watching waayyyy too many movies and donned my ugly, belled adorned Christmas jumper for my works meal on Sunday. Everyone’s experience of Christmas is a different one, so here are some of my favourites…

  • festive shop windows
  • the family ritual of putting up the tree and lights
  • listening to a choir sing carols over the radio at night time
  • wrapping presents
  • German delights, stollen and lebkuchen
  • tacky jumpers
  • paper crowns and stupid jokes in crackers
  • home baked mince pies
  • when mum makes mulled wine/cider and the house smells glorious
  • opening the advent calendar door every morning
  • sherry/ port
  • honey roasted vegetables and pigs in blankets
  • watching polar express whilst eating Christmas dinner
  • warm, gooey xmas pud with hot custard
  • opening presents reallllyyy slowly
  • prosecco for breakfast
  • having all of our friends around, all merry
  • TV specials
  • writing and receiving cards
  • the excited exchange of gifts
  • Christmas ‘flavoured’ things/ eggnog, cinnamon, nutmeg, orange, gingerbread

When I’ve asked people about what some of their favourite things to do on the big day are, the usual suspects always crop up. Nothing beats unwrapping presents in your pjs, having that post-meal food coma nap, and of course Christmas dinner itself. However, a Christmas day breakfast is also top of some peoples list. You all now by now how much of a breakfast advocate I am but I’ve never, ever had a proper one on this particular day. I don’t know why, I think I get exciting by the prospect of dinner so I like to keep my appetite for then, but that doesn’t mean I can’t enjoy a festive start of the day on the days running up to it.

I love alllll of the spices I mentioned above, and I’ve probably used ginger in way too many of recipes lately but I don’t care, I really don’t. You’ll probably be wondering where my gingerbread recipe is, and this is it. I know it’s not you’re typical gingerbread bake, but I’m sick of cookies and however much I’d like to make a gingerbread house again, I just don’t have the time. So, what’s better than having this sweet treat for breakfast instead? I love making my own granola, it’s so easy but satisfying and it makes LOADS so here it is 🙂

DSCF4180DSCF4181DSCF4182DSCF4183DSCF4184DSCF4185

Untitled

  • 3 1/4 cups rolled oats
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • tablespoons cinnamon
  • teaspoon ground ginger
  • cup raw nuts, I used peanuts
  • cup dried cranberries, sultanas, raisins, dried apple pieces, sunflower seeds, or any dried fruit/ nuts/ seeds that you wanted
  • cup dark chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • tablespoons syrup or honey, I used a golden syrup
  • tablespoons molasses
  • tablespoons stem ginger syrup
  • ball of stem ginger, roughly chopped

1) Preheat your oven to 160 and line a large baking tray with parchment paper

2) In a large mixing bowl, combine thee oats, salt, cinnamon, ground ginger, nuts, and all dried fruit etc you’re going to use.

3) In a saucepan over a medium heat, warm the oil, syrup or honey, molasses, ginger syrup, and ginger.

4) Pour the liquid over the dry oats and stir to coat everything.

5) Tip everything out onto the baking tray and pop in the oven for about 19/20 minutes but keep an eye on it because it browns quite quickly. Half way through, stir up the mixture.

6) Remove from the oven and leave to cool completely. Break up into pieces and then store in a airtight container for up to a week.

2 thoughts on “Three Little Bears/ Festive Gingerbread Granola

Leave a Reply

