Coffee & Walnut Swirls

DSCF4232

I think I made it quite clear in my last post that I’m steering away from anything diet related this January and if those honey drenched, nutty swirls up there are anything to go by I’d maybe not read any further if you’re living off 41 nutritious shakes a day. Saying that, I did attempt to make a healthier version of a coffee and walnut cake the other day but it failed so miserably that I cried when it was all over, and if that’s not a sure sign then I don’t know what is.

SO, I think the word we’re going to focus on today is ‘rustic’ okay? We’re rolling with that. They’re not a mess, they’re most definitely rustic. After my apocalyptic cake disaster the other day I decided not to make another one until I was in the right mindset but I really wanted to use these two flavour combinations still so I decided to make some sort of hybrid. Cinnamon swirls are great, I love cinnamon, in fact I have it every single day buttttt I think people are getting tired of my sweet spice obsession (allll of my past 1/2 months recipes have cinnamon or ginger in, sorry) so I’m combining them all together. But it’s still got cinnamon in, there’s no escapin’.

I know cinnamon buns are usually yeast based but I really wanted to soak them up in lots of coffee and honey, literally drown them, so bread wasn’t going to be a great foundation. Not wanting my swirls to go down like the Titanic, I went for a more solid and biscuity version and they’ve withheld brilliantly. Bravo. Just a little end note, I’ve adjusted the amount of baking powder because I underestimated how much to add when making mine, so if you’re wondering why mine look fit for a munchkin then that’s why.

DSCF4236DSCF4239DSCF4235DSCF4240DSCF4242

Untitled

FOR THE SWIRLS

  • 2 1/3 cup plain flour
  • teaspoons baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/4 cup butter, cold
  • 2/3 cup milk, a little extra to brush

FOR THE FILLING

  • 3 tablespoons butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup dark brown sugar
  • teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup chopped dates, raisins, any dried fruit (optional)
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts

FOR THE GLAZE

  • teaspoon instant coffee (instant is better here)
  • teaspoon honey, plus extra to top
  • small handful of mixed chopped nuts

1) Preheat the oven to 170C and line a baking tray with parchment pap.er

2) In a bowl, rub together the butter with the flour and salt until you reach a sand-like consistency. Next slowly pour in the milk, a little at a time, so the dough forms a ball.

3) On a slightly floured surface, roll the dough into a rectangle. Spread on the butter and then sprinkle over the sugar, cinnamon, dried fruit and walnuts.

4) Carefully roll the dough into a long rope and cut off the ends to neaten. Cut into equal sized rolls and place upright on the tray. Brush with some milk and bake for 25-30 minutes or until golden.

5) To make the glaze, mix the coffee with a little bit of hot water and add the teaspoon of honey. Mix until melted and combined.

6) When the swirls are done, remove from the oven and leave to cool for a few minutes. Pour over the glaze and then top with more swirls of honey and then the chopped nuts. These are best eaten warm!

2 thoughts on “Coffee & Walnut Swirls

Leave a Reply

