Muffin Hybrids

DSCF4249

Doughnuts are a tough one for me. I like the idea of them, some of them look pretty spectacular and you can make some hella flavour combinations in them too butttt I don’t eat them. I don’t know why, but the ‘hey, a big bomb of yeasted sugar is exactly what my body needs right now!’ cry has never crossed my lips. I think that’s what it is, they’re just TOO much sweet for me. Unfortunately my favourite pizza place is next door to a Krispy Kreme and there’s always a cloud of Original Glazed wafting around. Nah.

I’m not saying I’m totally against doughnuts here, I mean I love the ones from the street vendors that are super soft and taste of nutmeg and spice but I’ll never be able to re-create that at home. Those are for the outdoors, they’re for rainy afternoons on the high-street, for cold evenings whilst watching fireworks and for the blustery, salty days out at the seaside. For me they’re a memory of a place that is not my kitchen.

I was experimenting this morning, something that either works or doesn’t. I don’t have a doughnut pan, so I substituted with a muffin tin instead. Doughnut muffins sell, Starbucks even (rather stupidly, I add) trademarked it so here’s me hoping my experiment will turn out for the best. I picked flavours that I enjoyed, ingredients that weren’t going to make my teeth melt and didn’t turn my end product into a saturated ball of heart attack. So, here are my blueberry and cocoa nib doughnut muffins, drizzled in a high cocoa percentage milk chocolate and desiccated coconut.

DSCF4250DSCF4246DSCF4257DSCF4258DSCF4247DSCF4259

Untitled

  • cups plain flour
  • teaspoon bicarb of soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • ripe banana, mashed
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 1/2 tablespoon butter, melted
  • eggs
  • tablespoon applesauce
  • 1/2 cup 70% dark chocolate chips and cocoa nibs
  • handful of blueberries
  • milk chocolate, I used a 50%
  • desiccated coconut, to sprinkle

1) Preheat the oven to 180C and lightly grease a muffin pan.

2) In a bowl, combine the flour, bicarb, baking powder and salt.

3) In another bowl, stir together the banana, honey and butter until combined. Next add the eggs and the applesauce.

4) Gently add the dry ingredients and fold through so that it is JUST combined. Fold in the chocolate, cocoa nibs and blueberries.

5) Spoon batter into the muffin tin (I filled mine to the top so they overflowed a little because I like the rise on them that way) and bake for 15-20 minutes until golden brown and cooked through. Remove and leave to cool completely on a wire rack.

6) Break up the chocolate into pieces and in a bowl over simmering water, warm through until melted. When the muffins are cool, drizzle the chocolate over the top and sprinkle over the coconut.

3 thoughts on “Muffin Hybrids

Leave a Reply

