Pizza Party/ Cocoa Pesto, Roasted Veg & Feta

DSCF4400

Honestly, the amount of bread posts lately isn’t intentional. I’ll seriously stop after this one, I promise.

I reckon I could live off pizza, a sole diet of it. Is there anything better? I’ll answer that for you. NO, no there isn’t. The crusts are my favourite, and I’ll 90% of the time opt for the veggie one so naturally this is what I went for with this one. I roasted a massive batch of butternut squash, peppers, onions and courgettes at the beginning of the week so these made an appearance and then I topped it with mozzarella and a salty feta cheese. Though the crowning moment is definitely the pesto here, and I swear to you I am not biased (mehhh a little), but this pesto is my favourite. I’m a bit fussy with it usually and I can’t touch it if it’s too watery or if it doesn’t pack a punch, but this one is spot on, both texturally and flavour-wise. The basil is roughly chopped instead of being blended into a pulp and the cocoa nibs provide a good bite, but as it’s super chunky I mixed it with a bit of cream cheese in order to spread it across the base.

Just a quick note, if you’re planning on making these with the no-knead crust like I have then be aware that these need at least 18 hours rising time so make it in advance!

DSCF4402DSCF4403DSCF4401DSCF4404DSCF4405

Untitled

NO-KNEAD PIZZA DOUGH FROM BONAPPETIT (condensed so makes 4 pizzas)

  • 3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • teaspoons salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon active dry yeast
  • 1.5 cups water

1) Mix the flour, salt and yeast in a bowl and gradually add the water and stir well. Bring together with your hands and form into a ball. Pop this into an oiled bowl and cover with cling film in a warm place for 18 hours or until it has doubled in size.

2) After this time is up, flour a surface and gently work the dough into a large rectangle. Cut into 4 equal portions.

3) Bring together the 4 corners of the dough into the centre and fold under. Turn it seam side down and roll gently to form a ball. Do this with the remaining portions.

4) Dust with flour and cover with cling film for a further hour.

AND THE REST

  • cocoa pesto
  • herbed cream cheese
  • roasted vegetables of choice
  • ball of mozzarella
  • feta cheese, to sprinkle

1) Preheat the oven to 220C and lightly flour a baking tray.

2) Working with 1 piece of dough at a time. Roll out onto a floured surface and mix together the pesto and the cream cheese. Spread liberally over the base, top with a few slices of mozzarella, roasted vegetables and the sprinkle over the feta.

3) Place in the oven and cook for 15 minutes or until the crust is golden. Repeat with the remaining pizzas.

2 thoughts on “Pizza Party/ Cocoa Pesto, Roasted Veg & Feta

Leave a Reply

