Banana Bread

DSCF4533

When I first started my blog I had intended to write around 3 times a week. This gradually went down to 2 posts, and now It’s whenever I feel like it which works for me. I don’t want this to be a chore, I don’t want it to be something that I feel that I HAVE to update regulary. I want to bake and blog at my own leisure, which is why I haven’t posted as much lately. Don’t worry, I am still here and I’m not going anywhere either, but I also need to remember to take things slow and not stress myself out too much.

I’ve been a busy bee the last couple of weeks, and I’ve not felt entirely right. I’m not sure how else to put it, but I’ve felt anxious and negative and not like myself at all. However, it’s the start of a new week and it’s sunny outside so I’m vowing to start being more mindful of myself, and it’s nothing a few late-night yoga sessions and half a pint of ice cream can’t fix.

Banana bread is one of my favourites, mostly for it’s simplicity and ability to cheer me up immediately. From the moment I pop it into the oven and I can smell all those super-ripe bananas caramelising to when I tuck into it in the garden with a cup of tea. It’s just good. This one has lots of ground cinnamon, swirled with butterscotch sauce and topped with walnuts but if that’s not to your taste, I previously made this Superfood version for all you healthies out there!

DSCF4525DSCF4527DSCF4529DSCF4530DSCF4532DSCF4534

Untitled

  • cups plain flour
  • teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 tablespoon ground cinnamon, and extra for sprinkling
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • eggs, beaten
  • ripe bananas, mashed
  • cup walnuts, chopped finely (save a few for decoration too!)

1) Preheat the oven to 180C and line a loaf tin.

2) Mix together the flour, baking soda, salt, and ground cinnamon until combined.

3) Beat together the honey and butter and then add the eggs and mashed banana.

4) Add the walnuts to the dry ingredients and then incorporate into the wet mixture. Mix until it has just combined!

5) Scrape batter into the tin, sprinkle with more cinnamon and top with walnut halves. Bake for 60 minutes or until a skewer inserted into the middle comes out clean.

6) Leave to cool in the tin for a bit and then remove onto a wire rack to cool completely.

6 thoughts on “Banana Bread

  1. Delicious. I’ve got a banana cake post in the works too! I can totally relate to how you’ve been feeling. I’ve been having the exact same thing with blogging and feeling generally blah. He’s to sunshine and spring 🙂

  2. I echo your comments on not sticking to a rigid posting schedule – otherwise what started as a hobby can end up a chore. This banana bread looks superb – I’m just about to check out your more saintly equivalent too!

Leave a Reply

