Soul Food/ White Chocolate Rice Pud

DSCF4569

Soul food, as in good for the soul, not the African American type. That would be a bit weird.

Rice pudding is the stuff my childhood dreams were made of. Not literally, of course, but it just brings back memories of spooning it out of the can and getting steaming bowls of it at your nan’s house after dinner. I kinda like all sorts of the stuff, It’s not really something I’m snobby about. No matter how good (or badly) it’s made, it’s still a big comfort and that’s what matters to me.

Saying that, I’d still rather eat it home-made. I like it subtly spiced but still sweet. I like it just in-between wallpaper paste and too runny, my spoon shouldn’t stand up in it but nor should it be going for a swim either. I’ve added high cocoa vanilla white chocolate to mine and topped it with a heap of sugar roasted plums so something extra.

DSCF4561DSCF4559 DSCF4564DSCF4565DSCF4566DSCF4567

Untitled

SERVES 3-4

  • 150g pudding rice
  • 80g golden caster sugar
  • 700ml semi-skimmed milk
  • cinnamon sticks
  • pinch of mixed spice
  • pinch of nutmeg
  • 80g vanilla white chocolate, I used Hotel Chocolat’s, grated
  • 60ml double cream
  • 3-4 plums, sliced
  • tablespoon sugar

1) Preheat the oven to 180C.

2) In a saucepan, bring the rice, sugar, milk, cinnamon and spices to the boil.

3) Turn down the heat and gently simmer for 25-30 minutes or until the rice has absorbed most the liquid. Stir frequently so the milk doesn’t burn.

4) Whilst doing this, place the plums on a roasting tray and top with the sugar. Pop in the oven for 15 minutes. Turn the plums over half way through.

5) Remove the rice pudding from the heat and stir in the grated chocolate. Remove the cinnamon sticks.

6) Remove the plums from the oven and place on top of the pudding.

8 thoughts on “Soul Food/ White Chocolate Rice Pud

  1. Mmmmmmmmmm, that sounds like heaven! I love rice pudding and this looks like a really exciting variation! I really might have to try this sometime! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  2. I won’t lie – I do not like white chocolate one bit! Buuuuut this still looks insanely yummy. I LOVED rice pud as a kid. I haven’t had it in years and years.. I really should fix that!
    healthynatty.com x

  3. Hey! Your blog has great recipes! I really like your photography in this post! What camera do you use? I know what you mean about finding the right light, which you mentioned in another post, I find myself taking pictures in some peculiar places around my flat! My friend used to work at hotel chocolat, he said the hot chocolates are incredible! I’m guessing you’re from the UK with the talk about the weather? If not, it’s been so bad in England too! WHERE’S SUMMER!?!

Leave a Reply

