Heatwaves For Breakfast

DSCF4592

 Waking up to blazing sunshine puts me in the happiest mood, even if it does have me getting up at ungodly hours. I mean, just look at that light! I haven’t experienced good photography light in months and months, and it’s all natural too. What’s even better is that I actually get to experience this lovely weather today as I have the entire day off- every other day the sun has put on his stupid little hat on the second I get home.

I got up at 6 today, there’s not much to do at this time so I watched Wreck-It Ralph in bed with the window wide open with a cup of tea. The thought of breakfast soon started to take over though and considering I have all of this time on my hands I decided to take my time and do it properly. Obviously this doesn’t usually happen, I’m too impatient and wake up starving so I shove the contents of the first box that comes into contact with my fingers into a bowl. It’s most often rolled oats but it’s too warm for porridge today and I’ll usually have yoghurt and granola in the summer so granola it is. There are two bags of granola in our kitchen (not enough, clearly) but there’s something really satisfying about making your own, and remember all those limes I mentioned in my last post? Yeah.

Going off on a slight tangent, I once sampled some of this new artisan popcorn and it was lime and chilli flavoured. It. Was. Great. Wonderful flavour combination. I applaud whoever originally put it together, I really do. I know it’s not uncommon in savoury dishes but there’s something about it that makes it wickedly good in snacks (tortilla crisps, anyone??). It’s really more-ish, so much so that I finished the whole thing. SO after debating what I could combine with the abundance of limes we have, my mind drifted to this happy time of demolishing a whole pack of popcorn and voilà.

DSCF4595

I worried about getting the balance right with this, ’cause I don’t want it to be too sweet nor did I want it to be that hot it was inedible but managed to get it just right, FOR ME, straight off. I realllllyy like heat, I like spicy, so this may be too much for those with a more delicate palette so add less chilli if that involves you. It also means I can’t shovel it all into my mouth, bowl after bowl, because I wouldn’t be able to feel or taste anything for the next day so it teaches me to portion control haha. Serve with some natural/ Greek yoghurt to cool it down nicely, and go sit outside and enjoy!

DSCF4599 DSCF4602DSCF4606DSCF4600

Untitled

  • cups rolled oats
  • teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • OPTIONAL: tablespoon of chilli mango loose tea 
  • 1/8 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • limes, zest and juice from both
  • 1/2 cup nut butter, I used Peanut Butter & Co’s The Heat Is On, melted

1) Preheat oven to 160C and line a baking tray with parchment paper.

2) In a bowl combine the oats, cinnamon, paprika, cayenne, and tea leaves until combined.

3) In another bowl mix together the olive oil, honey, syrup, lime zest and juice, and the melted nut butter. Pour this over the oats and combine until everything is coated.

4) Tip out onto the baking tray into a single layer and pop in the oven for 30-35 minutes. Check and stir half way through.

5) Remove from the oven and leave to cool so it firms up.

5 thoughts on “Heatwaves For Breakfast

Leave a Reply

