Battle of the Banana Bread

DSCF4642

I had a ball with these photos, and I’ve spent the last few hours trying to sort through them all as I took waaayyy too many. I’m a little bit crazy over them. Beige is best.

Before the birth of this recipe today, I was having a bit of banana dilemma because I just had one too many to cope with. They were all beginning to blacken too, which I prefer the taste of, but trying to munch through them is a no-go. So what do you do with a bunch of stupidly ripe bananas? You make banana bread.

DSCF4632

I’ve got a couple recipes already on here but none with chocolate (I know, right?!) I was leafing through A New Way of Cooking With Chocolate at work yesterday and voilà, a double page spread of banana bread-y goodness. This is clearly fate. There are two versions- one belonging to Jon (executive chef) and the other Angus Thirlwell (CEO/ Co-Founder at HC) and they’re both pretty different but deliciously good. This has left me with another dilemma, a big one obviously, which took me a good part of an hour to decide which one to make.

Jon’s recipe calls for good old butter and plain flour and adds in some roasted cocoa nibs, whereas Angus’s uses coconut oil, a combination of wholemeal and white spelt, chocolate chunks and nuts for added measure. I’m all about using cupboard staples, and I much prefer the old fashioned way of using butter (but do feel free to use the coconut oil if you’re all about that!) I love baking with spelt flour, it gives recipes a somewhat nuttier taste but as I’m going to be adding a handful of chopped nuts in later, I’m using part wholemeal/plain flour, and OF COURSE I’m using chocolate chunks.

I’m using Jon’s recipe, but I’ve nabbed a few little ingredients from Angus’s because they’re too good to leave behind. HOWEVER if you’re looking for that recipe in particular, go have a mooch at Holly’s version of it!

DSCF4634DSCF4635DSCF4636DSCF4637DSCF4641DSCF4643DSCF4646DSCF4648

Untitled

  • 115g butter, at room temperature
  • 225g caster sugar
  • 140g wholemeal flour
  • 140g plain flour
  • teaspoon bicarb of soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 30g roasted cocoa nibs (you can buy online/ H&B or omit if you like)
  • eggs
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • very ripe bananas, mashed
  • 150g dark chocolate chunks (at least 70% cocoa solids)
  • handful of chopped nuts, I used peanuts, hazelnuts and walnuts

1) Preheat the oven to 180C and grease a loaf tin. Tip in some extra flour and tap out the excess.

2) Beat the butter and sugar together until light and fluffy.

3) In a separate bowl, beat the eggs and vanilla together. Gradually add this into the butter mixture, mix, and then add your bananas. Mix until thoroughly combined.

4) In another bowl, combine the flours, bicarb, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg. Tip half into the wet ingredients, stir and scrape down the sides of the bowl, and then add the rest. Mix until everything comes together.

5) Fold in the chocolate and nuts.

6) Bake for 25-30 minutes and then cover loosely with foil. Bake for a further 20 minutes or until a skewer inserted into the middle comes out clean (apart from the melty chocolate bits!)

7) Leave to cool in the tin for a little while, and then remove onto a wire rack to cool properly. It’s best served a little bit warm!

16 thoughts on “Battle of the Banana Bread

  1. Chocolate and banana are a winning combination! It’s a great idea to combine more than one recipe…I do it all the time – therefore making it new and uniquely yours… And your photos are adorable..love your toes! 🙂

  2. Love this! I have Jon’s recipe for banana bread in my drafts, how funny. This version sounds divine!! Definitely Mt favourite parts of each recipe in one, going to have to try it 🙂

Leave a Reply

