Raspberry Bakewell Cake

DSCF4781

D’you know how long I’ve been wanting to make a bakewell? The answer is a very long time but you know when you keep telling yourself you’ll do something and never get round to actually achieving it? Well, that. I’ve had a spare few hours this morning so I told myself to get my backside into gear and make some almond-y goodness.

So this isn’t a tart, I can’t make tarts very well. I explained this in a previous post but honestly, tarts aren’t my forte. Naturally I turned it into a cake because cakes are my favourite sort of afternoon tea and left out the jam for some proper amaretto-soaked raspberries for a bit of an update. The reason I’ve wanted to make (eat) this for so long is because of the cake itself because I looove almonds, I snack on them all the time and spend about 30% of my wages on them (and a mountain of other nuts) to top my breakfasts with. Plain ones, chocolate covered ones, yogurt coated ones, honey roasted ones, seriously all of them. The addiction continues.

When I heard about nuts.com spreading the word, I was on it. Because yeah, almonds taste great and that’s predominately why I incorporate them into my diet on a regular basis, but they’re also super good for you. I actually started eating them after discovering the were packed full of magnesium which would help my asthma in the long run, and that they are great for brain health so I’d snack on them whilst I was studying instead of eating sweets. They’re great for that energy boost but without the dreaded sugar slump half hour later.  You can find the really long, really amazing, drool-worthy list of products on their almond page.

DSCF4787

However, I will reinforce that balance is everything. Eat good for the majority of the time but remember to give treat yourself and that eating cake, or that packet of crisps, or the takeaway on a weekend isn’t ‘cheating’. Eating food, no matter it is, shouldn’t be considered a cheat because there is no such thing as ‘bad’ foods- just eat them in moderation. This is exactly what this cake resembles, a combination of healthy and not so, and it tastes absolutely great so go and feed your cravings.

DSCF4782DSCF4783DSCF4784DSCF4788DSCF4789DSCF4790

Untitled

  • 250g raspberries
  • 3-4 teaspoons amaretto liqueur
  • 140g ground almonds
  • 140g butter
  • 140g caster sugar/ or fructose xylitol
  • 140g plain flour
  • teaspoons baking powder
  • 2 eggs
  • 2-3 teaspoons flaked almonds

1) Preheat the oven to 180C and line a springform pan with parchment paper.

2) Pour the amaretto over the raspberries and leave to soak up until needed.

3) Blitz together the ground almonds, butter, sugar (or fructose), flour, baking powder and eggs until it all comes together. It will be a very thick batter, but don’t worry.

4) Scrape half of it into the tin and scatter over the raspberries. Top with remaining mix and smooth over. It’s best to do this with your (clean!) fingers. Scatter over the flaked almonds and bake for 50 minutes until golden.

15 thoughts on “Raspberry Bakewell Cake

Leave a Reply

