Puff Daddy

DSCF4805

We all by now that I don’t do pretty so let’s just skip over how ‘rustic’ this looks, shall we?

There is a lot of fruit in my house, a lot. I am the only person that eats this fruit, but one can’t resist a bargain so there’s more than my body can handle. I’ve been wining about how to use up a whole punnet of plums, I’m pretty sure I was only wining about another punnet I had acquired a few posts ago but this is a whole new batch people. Plums aren’t something I crave, I always hear such lovely stories about people buying fresh ones at markets when they’re all juicy and plump but they do nothing for me, sorry. I do like plums warm though, in sponge puddings and crumbles, but wasn’t feeling either of those today so after rooting through the freezer I found a pack of puff pastry which instantly became the vehicle for my little fruits.

I wouldn’t typically use puff in a galette but girl’s gotta use what she’s got, and it works so well. The light yet crispy folds of pastry are a nice bite against the soft, sugar plums and there’s a hidden layer of almond paste at the bottom too. No soggy bottoms involved here.

DSCF4801DSCF4802DSCF4803DSCF4804DSCF4807

Untitled

  • 5-6 ripe plums, cut into wedges
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 25g high cocoa white chocolate, chopped
  • 1/2 cup slivered almonds, chopped
  • tablespoons butter
  • tablespoons brown sugar
  • tablespoon plain flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 sheet puff pastry
  • egg yolk, to glaze
  •  brown sugar, to sprinkle
  • powdered sugar, to dust

1) Preheat the oven to 190C and line a baking tray with parchment paper. Toast the almonds for 5-7 minutes until golden. Leave to cool slightly.

2) In a bowl, toss together the plums, 1/4 cup sugar and white chocolate. Set aside.

3) In another bowl, combine the almonds, butter, sugar, flour and cinnamon until it forms a paste-like texture.

4) Roll out the puff pastry into a 12-12 inch square. Spread the almond paste on the bottom, leaving a 2 inch border.

5) Top with plums and then pull the pastry border over the edges of the fruit. Pleat as you go.

8) Brush with egg yolk and top with a sprinkle of sugar. Bake for 40 minutes until the pastry is golden and the fruit is soft.

9) Remove and leave to cool completely before serving. Top with powdered sugar.

12 thoughts on “Puff Daddy

  1. Wow this is on my list for plum season – a few months ago I turned bags of plums into an amazing plum sauce that pairs so well with lamb – check out the recipe on my blog if you have any plums left that is!

Leave a Reply

