Ooozy Chocolate & Cinnamon Muffins

DSCF5022

No Bake Off post as of yet, I haven’t had time to watch it yet annnnnd I may have skipped last week’s dessert recipe BUT it was my birthday so I’m excusing myself.

I’ve been so tired of this weather, I feel like summer didn’t even turn up to the party so it’s just been a never ending autumn/winter cycle. It’s completely exhausting. I love autumn so much, it’s actually my favourite season, but I just miss the sun. However it’s now September (?!) and it’s allowed to be cool and crisp outside so I’m okay with it. Autumn also means cosy knits, being allowed to put the fire on, and eating warm and comforting food and this little recipe reflects that.

I love cinnamon, admittedly I go a little overboard on it and shower my breakfast with it every morning, but it’s sooo good and I can never get enough of it. It always reminds me of this time of year so I had to make these cinnamon muffins to celebrate the start of the season. I stuffed mine with Whole Earth’s chocolate hazelnut spread just to make them a little more indulgent and because why not? They’re then topped with a buttery, spiced glaze and warmed up a little to make them all gooey. I promise that these will make it easier to accept that we’re already 9 months into the year. Eek!

DSCF5021DSCF5023DSCF5024DSCF5025

Untitled

  • 75g butter, room temperate
  • 100g caster sugar
  • egg
  • 125ml buttermilk
  • 190g plain flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • teaspoons chocolate & hazelnut spread/ I used Whole Earth

FOR THE TOPPING

  • tablespoons butter, melted
  • 50g caster sugar
  • teaspoons ground cinnamon
  1. Preheat the oven to 220C and line a muffin tin with 6 cases.
  2. Cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add the egg and buttermilk and beat.
  3. In another bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt.
  4. Gradually add the dry ingredients to the wet mixture and mix until just combined. Don’t overmix.
  5. Scoop 1 tablespoon of the batter into the cases, top with 1 tablespoon of chocolate spread and top with remaining muffin mix.
  6. Pop in the oven for 5 minutes, before turning down the temperature to 180C. Bake for 13-15 minutes.
  7. Remove from the oven and leave to cool completely on a wire rack.
  8. Melt the butter in a microwavable dish. Combine the sugar and cinnamon and pour out onto a plate.
  9. When the muffins are cool, dip the tops into the melted butter and roll in the cinnamon sugar mixture. Repeat with the rest and leave to set.
10 thoughts on “Ooozy Chocolate & Cinnamon Muffins

Leave a Reply

