Autumnal Steak & Mushroom Pie

DSCF5042

My laptop died a painful death on Monday, hence my absence. I remember when I first started this blog and I’d have a schedule of when to post, and I’d know exactly what to make as well. HAHA. That does not happen now, I assure you. My approach is much more eeney-meenie-mynee-mo, sometimes I’ll do a bakealong Bake Off post but that depends how busy I am (i.e how hard the tasks are.) It was pastry week last week, we all know how brilliant I am at pastry, lol, so I was planned on making a frangipane tart like the rest of the bakers but then I was asked to do a SAVOURY pastry instead. Fine, this is fine. I can do savoury.

To my mild horror, I was then asked to a steak pie. I’m not exactly a vegetarian, I enjoy fish way too much to be a fully-fledged veggie, and I’ll eat turkey at Christmas and Easter but other than that meat doesn’t interest me. This means that I’ve never cooked meat either, why would I? It’s vile. I am, however, pleasing the masses here (my parents) so I got on with it. I was actually quite excited to cook something different and I was ever so proud at the end of it. So yeah, it isn’t the neatest and my pastry is looking hap-hazard as always but maybe that’s just my baking style. Hap-hazard, yes.

There wasn’t any of it left by the end of our Sunday dinner which is always a good sign. Ugly pie definitely got a big thumbs up.

DSCF5040

That’s Norman.

DSCF5041DSCF5044

Untitled

PIE FILLING RECIPE FROM GOOD DINNER MUM

  • 1kg stewing steak
  • 3 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • punnet button mushrooms, washed, trimmed and quartered
  • onion, finely chopped
  • carrots, chopped into small pieces
  • tablespoons tomato paste
  • cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 cup red wine (or water)
  • tablespoons plain flour
  • cups beef stock
  • tablespoon soy sauce
  • tablespoon Worcester sauce
  • bay leaf
  • cup frozen peas
  • salt and pepper, to taste

FOR THE PASTRY

  • 300g plain flour
  • 100g cold butter, cubed
  • egg yolk. beaten
  1. First make the pastry. Combine the flour and butter together until course. Add up too 100ml cold water (add gradually) until the dough comes together. Knead and then wrap in cling film. Chill in the fridge for a few hours or overnight.
  2. Preheat the oven to 180C.
  3. Heat 1 1/2 tablespoons of the oil in a deep pan over a medium-high heat. Add the beef and sear each side until well browned and then remove with a slotted spoon. Set aside
  4. Turn down to a medium heat and add the rest of the oil. Cook the onion until lightly coloured and then add the carrots and mushrooms. I cooked mine off for about 10-15 minutes. Remember to keep scrapping the bottom on the pan to get all the bits up.
  5. Add the tomato paste and the garlic and cook for a further 30 seconds or until fragrant.
  6. Next add the wine (or water) and cook for 2 minutes. Add the flour and stir until everything has been coated. Chuck in the beef stock, soy sauce, Worcester sauce and the bay leaf and then add the beef back in. Bring to a simmer.
  7. Pour the filling into a casserole dish, cover, and cook for 2 hours. My beef was tender at this point, but if yours is still chewy then add a 1/4 cup of water and cook for another 5-10 minutes.
  8. Discard the bay leaf and stir in the peas. Season with salt and pepper here if you wish.
  9. Transfer the filling into a deep pie dish and brush the rim with egg wash.
  10. Roll out your pastry so it’s slightly larger than your pie dish. Fold the overhanging dough inwards so that it’s flush with the sides. Crimp the sides and cut a whole in the centre of the pie. I also made a few cuts around the edge.
  11. Brush the pastry with egg wash.
  12. Put the temperature up to 200C and cook for a further 20-30 minutes or until golden.
2 thoughts on “Autumnal Steak & Mushroom Pie

Leave a Reply

