Choccie Chip

DSCF5126

Just a quick one today guys, we’re in the process of having a new bathroom so there’s been lots of builders in the house. I had to wash my hair in the kitchen sink on Wednesday. HIGHLIGHT.

It’s been getting a little chilly outside, which I love, so I’ve been fuelling myself with lots of hot drinks and comfort foods. I’ve been making this chocolate orange hot chocolate which is quite a delight but it’s obviously missing something to dunk in it. I’ve been using Willie’s ‘Luscious Orange’ so I chopped the leftovers into massive chunks and folded them in along with some almonds, just for extra measure.

DSCF5124

I don’t like crunchy cookies. It’s just not right. I want super soft, chewy cookies that fold off into my hands and these do exactly that. I drizzled some 50% milk over the top too because you can never have enough good chocolate. There are always people that come up to me and say ‘it’s rich, I feel satisfied after one piece’ and here’s me nodding along. You’re all insane. Eat the whole thing, go on.

DSCF5125

Untitled

  • 75g butter, softened
  • 70g caster sugar
  • teaspoon honey
  • egg
  • 1/4 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
  • 100g high quality orange chocolate, chopped roughly
  • large handful almonds, roughly chopped
  • 100g plain flour
  • 50g high quality milk chocolate, melted
  1. Preheat the oven to 190C and line a cookie tray with parchment paper.
  2. Cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy.
  3. Add the egg and beat well.
  4. Combine the bicarb with a teaspoon of water and then add to the butter mixture.
  5. Fold in the chocolate and almonds. Don’t overmix.
  6. Add the flour until just combined.
  7. Spoon teaspoons of the batter onto the tray, 8cm apart from each other (they’ll spread!) and bake for 8 minutes.
  8. Remove from the oven and leave to cool on the tray for a little bit before setting on a wire tray to cool completely.
  9. Drizzle over the melted chocolate once cooled.

9 thoughts on “Choccie Chip

  1. I will need to try these ones if my mummy will let me, they look YUM!
    Please check out my baking blog which I have just started
    bakeallthethingsblog.wordpress.com

    Thanks
    Baking Ava

  2. I agree, crunchy cookies are not right.
    Chewey, possible gooey cookies are where it’s at and these look like money right here!
    I imagine things going a little like, nom nom nom, bang, bang, bang, nom nom, nom, watch out for that pipe! Nom, nom, nom.

Leave a Reply

