Winter Spiced Apple & Cranberry Flapjacks

DSCF5257

I never found myself inclined to purchase flapjacks, I just never fancied one. You know when the sugar cravings hit and you find yourself dreaming about bathing in chocolate and figuring out where the nearest carrot cake fix is? Never flapjacks.

I’m not saying I don’t like them, not at all, it’s more of a case of forgetting how much I do like them. I went that long without one that I even convinced myself that I could continue life without them. I thought I had better alternatives. What a fool.

I think it all started with a bad flapjack. You know those little compressed rectangles of solidified oats that taste what I imagine the sole of a shoe tastes like? And they come in really bright coloured packaging and are intended for children and people with no taste buds to take to school/work. Well yes, one of those.

What is ridiculous is that I reaaalllly love oats and I love syrup like every other good person on this planet. I love all the little bits you can stick in them like dried fruit and chocolate chips. After coming to this realisation, I bucked up my ideas and started making my own a couple of years ago and I have never looked back. I’ve baked a batch of Christmassy ones today, made with cinnamon stewed apples, dried cranberries and vanilla white chocolate. I used a mix of golden syrup and honey and leave out the caster sugar altogether because I think they’re sweet enough as it is.

DSCF5277DSCF5259DSCF5268DSCF5261DSCF5274DSCF5278

Untitled

FOR THE CINNAMON STEWED APPLES

  • apples, grated
  • floz water
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon mixed allspice

FOR THE FLAPJACKS

  • 50g golden syrup
  • 50g honey
  • 100g unsalted butter
  • 250g rolled oats
  • dried cranberries
  • cinnamon stewed apples
  • high quality vanilla white chocolate
  1. FOR THE APPLES/ Bring the water to a boil over a medium heat. Add the grated apples, cinnamon, nutmeg and allspice and lower the temperature to low/medium. Cover and leave to simmer for 10-15 minutes. When done, place into a bowl and set aside until needed.
  2. Line a baking tin (I used a cake tin and cut into cookie segments) with parchment paper and preheat the oven to 170C.
  3. Melt the syrup, honey and butter in a large saucepan until the butter has melted and everything has combined.
  4. Add the oats and stir so that they’re all coated.
  5. Reserve some of the cranberries to scatter on top, and fold the rest through with the stewed apples.
  6. Scrape the mix into the prepared tin and smooth over with the back of a spoon. Top with the remaining cranberries and bake for 30-35 minutes.
  7. When cooked, remove from the oven and score into segments. Leave to cool completely in the tin before removing.
  8. When cool, melt the white chocolate and drizzle over the top. Leave to set.
9 thoughts on “Winter Spiced Apple & Cranberry Flapjacks

  1. You are so freaking talented, I can’t even stand it!
    This posts reminded me I haven’t had a flapjack myself in yearssssss and now I want one.
    Didn’t want one before. It’s all I want now.
    WTF 😀

Leave a Reply

