Salted Caramel & Cinnamon Stewed Apple Crumble

DSCF5378

Guys, it snowed this morning which is a quick fire way to make Jenn very unhappy. I do not do snow, I just cannot. Yeah, it looks real pretty for that first 5 minutes of looking at it (from afar, inside, by the fire), but then it turns to sludge. Sludge is not good. It’s also not good to travel in but that’s quite an understatement, it is HORRENDOUS to travel in because all my buses stop and it takes me hours to get anywhere. It’s also too cold to manage, no matter how many layers I shove on I still can’t feel any of my limbs. So no, I do not want to build a god damn snowman.

The snow has now melted and it’s sunny, but I’m still not going anywhere today. Today’s a bake day, I could feel it in my bones this morning. I’ve been wondering what to make all week, I’ve got lots of recipes to experiment with and post, but bitter cold weather calls for warm winter puddings. Obviously the best kind of puddings.

DSCF5373

This week we had tons of apples on hand. No one will actually eat them because this particular batch doesn’t taste of anything. Nothing at all, just crunchy nothing. Clearly the best thing to do is cover them with many layers of sugar, spice and all things crumble. Someone pass me the custard!

DSCF5374

DSCF5375

DSCF5377

DSCF5380

DSCF5381

DSCF5382

Untitled

FOR THE CINNAMON SPICED APPLES

  • apples, peeled, cored and cut into wedges
  • 75g caster sugar
  • teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon mixed allspice

FOR THE CRUMBLE

  • 225g plain flour
  • handful of walnuts, roughly chopped
  • 100g cold butter, cubed
  • 60g caster sugar

FOR THE SALTED CARAMEL

  • 100g caster sugar
  • 150ml double cream
  • sea salt
  1. FOR THE APPLES/ Bring a pan of water to the boil over a medium heat. Add in the apple wedges, sugar and spices and give it a stir. Cover and leave to simmer for 10 minutes. When done, drain any excess water and layer the apples on the bottom of a deep oven-proof dish.
  2. TO MAKE THE CRUMBLE/ Put the flour and chopped walnuts into a bowl and then rub in the butter until it resembles breadcrumbs. Pour in the sugar and stir through. Set aside.
  3. TO MAKE THE SALTED CARAMEL SAUCE/ Heat the sugar in a pan until it has melted and caramelised, but don’t let it get too dark. Add the double cream and stir well (it’ll froth). Make sure all of the sugar has dissolved and been mixed well with the cream and then add a good pinch of salt.
  4. ASSEMBLY & BAKE/ Pour the salted caramel over the layer of apples and then top liberally with the crumble. Bake for 40 minutes and then leave to cool for around 5 minutes before serving.
9 thoughts on “Salted Caramel & Cinnamon Stewed Apple Crumble

  1. This sounds divine, please bring some to my next right now, it is not too early, even if it is pre 9am, for crumble. Also I am glad you have that apron because a) it has your name all over it and b) we are apron twins!

  2. Perfect timing for me to stumble upon this post!! I have some apples sitting around that I have yet to eat! This would be perfect especially during the colder seasons… Yes like right now 😉 and salted caramel is definitely the cherry on top!

Leave a Reply

