Drunken Chocolate Panna Cotta

I’ve had these ramekins hanging around for many moons now. Literally last summer. I bought some new ones after finding all these recipes I wanted to test out anddd I haven’t touched them since. Not at all. They only came out of the box last week. It’s not that I didn’t want to play with them anymore, I just couldn’t decide what to make in them. I don’t make decisions unless I have to, in fact I’d rather just jump ship. Which is exactly what I did. I just abandoned them.

I’ve been in a bit of baking rut lately because I’m bored of making the same kinda things allll of the time. So I’m cracking open all of my recipe books and then, wham bam, this beauty calls to me straight away. It’s clearly a sign Jenn, go whip out those ramekins you’ve been avoiding for 6 months. Go do it.

So I did. Because if you can’t change for panna cotta, then when can you? I’ve had many a vanilla one, but never a chocolate version. It’s good, very good. It’s super soft and tastes of the most decadent chocolate mousse. I used Hotel Chocolat’s 80% Vietnam which packs a very fruit punch, so it complements the blueberries perfectly (which I soaked in Winter Pimms, because WHY NOT?)

(Unfortunately these terrible January evening photographs don’t do this little dessert much justice. Try and look past it)

Untitled

TWEAKED FROM WILLIE HARCOURT-COOZE’S RECIPE

SERVES 4

  • sheets leaf gelatine
  • 250ml full-fat milk
  • 100ml double cream
  • 40g caster sugar
  • 125g 72-80% chocolate. I used Hotel Chocolat 80% Vietnam, Mekong Delta (found here), chopped
  • 100g blueberries
  • caster sugar, to taste
  • teaspoons Winter Pimms
  1. Place the gelatine in a dish and cover with cold water. Set aside for 10 minutes.
  2. Heat the milk, cream, and sugar in a pan over a medium heat. Stir until the sugar dissolves, and bring just to a boil. Remove from the heat and stir in the chocolate until melted.
  3. Drain the gelatine, squeeze out any excess water, and stir into the chocolate mixture until dissolved. Divide equally between the ramekins and leave to set in the fridge for a minimum of two hours.
  4. In the meantime, heat the blueberries with a bit of water until they start to burst. Remove from the heat and stir in the Pimms. Leave in the fridge until needed.
  5. To serve, dip each ramekin very briefly into hot water, and turn out onto a serving dish. Spoon over liberal amounts of the boozy blueberries and enjoy!
6 thoughts on “Drunken Chocolate Panna Cotta

Leave a Reply

