Banana ‘Cookie Dough’ Breakfast Parfait

Breakfast is the only thing that gets me out of bed so promptly in the morning. Those people who hourrrss, or those people that don’t eat it at all (?!) I just don’t know how you do it! Sometimes I’ll wake up in the night sick with hunger, so that first meal of the day is very important for me. I’m not gonna harp on about all the benefits of eating a good breakfast because I reckon I’ve done that in every other recipe I’ve done (BUT IT IS REALLY GOOD, SO EAT IT).

I especially need a decent start to today because I’ve been feeling very sluggish and tired this week. My skin is so terribly dry that I could sand a floor with it, and it’s crap outside. That wind is god-awful. It’s been mild up until this month but I already want warmer weather. Obviously not world problems, but something a decent breakfast will make better.

Conveniently this week is Breakfast Week, perfect timing to share this little gem of a recipe (nabbed from Immaeatthat!) For those who like a heartier breakfast, this parfait definitely feels more like a naughty dessert. What’s even better is that all that naughtiness is actually full of goodness that’ll kick start the rest of the day. It takes all of 5 minutes to put together, and you can even prepare it the night before if you’re the roll-out-of-bed-and-go type.

Untitled

RECIPE FROM IMMAEATTHAT

for the cookie layer

  • 1/3 cup oat flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • pinch of salt
  • heaped tablespoon peanut butter
  • 1/2 large banana, mashed
  • 1/2 tablespoon almond milk

for the pudding

  • 1/2 cup yogurt, I used Skyr
  • 1/2 large banana, cut into coins
  • cinnamon, to sprinkle
  1. In a bowl, combine flour, cinnamon and salt.
  2. Make a well in the centre and add the peanut butter, mashed banana and almond milk. Give it a good stir so it forms a ‘dough’ like mixture.
  3. In a large glass, start off with a layer of the cookie dough, top with a few banana slices, 1/4 cup yogurt and then more banana slices. Repeat until all the mixture has been used.
  4. Sprinkle over cinnamon.
3 thoughts on “Banana ‘Cookie Dough’ Breakfast Parfait

Leave a Reply

