Nut Brittle & White Chocolate Biscotti

DSCF5465

Verrrry sorry for my brief absence last week, it was a busy one and I had a lot of work to get stuck into. It makes a real difference when you can’t do the things you enjoy, I didn’t bake at all last week and I’ve been feeling terrible! I’ve felt tense and had too much on my mind, which a bit of baking always seems to relax. Basically the moral to this story is to always make time for cake. Or biscuits, in this case.

I made quite a lot of nut brittle last week, by which I mean a whole roasting tin amount of nut brittle. There is only three of us in our household. Yup, too much nut brittle. We got around a 1/4 of the way through but with still no sight of the end I decided to take action and make it into something else. Cookies are always a good vehicle for nuts and caramel but I needed something sturdy to withhold all that brittle. A sturdy biscuit, ideally something you can dunk? Biscotti, always biscotti.

I made my last batch sometime during the summer which, scarily, only seems like a month ago so it was about time I made some more (they went down well). I love the process of making biscotti, it’s got two baking times to allow crunchiness and I like seeing that mound of sticky dough grow into something beautiful and tasty. Very tasty, as I can’t seem to keep my mitts off the little broken bits.

I blitzed down the blanket of brittle and chopped up some white chocolate to accompany it, and voilà!

DSCF5460

DSCF5461

DSCF5462

DSCF5463

DSCF5464

DSCF5466

Untitled

MAKES 35-40

  • 125g salted butter
  • 175g caster sugar
  • eggs
  • teaspoon hazelnut essence
  • 350g plain flour
  • teaspoons baking powder
  • 120g high quality white chocolate, chopped into small pieces
  • nut brittle (how ever much you’ve got to hand), blitzed into a fine powder
  • 50g white chocolate, melted (to drizzle)
  1. Preheat the oven to 170C and line a baking tray with parchment paper.
  2. Beat the butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Add eggs one at a time, beating after each one. Add the hazelnut essence.
  3. In another bowl, sift together the flour and baking powder.
  4. Stir in the butter and sugar mixture until combined and then fold in the blitzed nut brittle and chopped chocolate.
  5. Divide the mixture into 3 parts and, on a lightly floured surface, shape each into a rectangle about 24cm x 8cm long/ wide.
  6. Place on the baking tray and bake for 25-30 minutes.
  7. Remove from the oven and reduce the temperature to 140C. Leave to cool on the tray slightly before slicing into biscotti shapes.
  8. Return back to the oven for a further 30 minutes, rotating 15 minutes through.
  9. Transfer onto a wire rack and leave to cool completely before drizzling over the white chocolate.
9 thoughts on “Nut Brittle & White Chocolate Biscotti

Leave a Reply

