Caramel Apple Crumble ‘Cheesecake’

DSCF5602

Can you guess the magic ingredient?

No cream cheese found here guys, just a tub of yogurt. Yup, yogurt.

I found the recipe on Collecting Memories, on her fabulous apple greek yogurt crumb bars. I couldn’t believeee how good they looked, oozing all that sticky caramel and crunchy crumble on top. Ugh. As of monday I’ve been reducing my sugar intake to 30g a day which,  by the way, is really, REALLY HARD when you bake AND work in the chocolate shop. I haven’t even completed a full week yet but I’ve not munched on any sweets, cocoa, any ready made sauces, honey, sugary cereal, dried fruit or basically anything with added sugar. I’m snacking on berries and a handful of nuts to keep the cravings at bay and so far, so good. What’s not so good is the tub of mango and passionfruit yogurt in the fridge. I hardly ever eat flavoured yogurt because the sugar content is shocking, so now is not the time to have it sitting in plain sight. Taunting me.

So I’m reading over this recipe and I’m wondering if my off-limits yogurt will substitute the greek yogurt that’s meant to be used. Greek yogurt is thick, it’s proper sturdy but my mango one isn’t so. If you don’t try then you never find out, and what I found out that IT WORKS. I sat next to the oven for the whole 35 minutes but it held together perfectly and set just like it should. Marvellous.

Regrettably I haven’t been able to have a slice (I licked my finger though and that tasted great), but my testers (my parents) were very impressed. They liked the added flavour from the yogurt and the texture of the crunchy apple and crumble on top. They especially liked the caramel that had dripped down the sides. I don’t usually post recipes after one attempt, but this was too much of a success to not share it with you all.

DSCF5597

DSCF5598

DSCF5601

DSCF5604

DSCF5606

Untitled

FOR THE CHEESCAKE BASE

  • 90g quick cook oats, ground
  • 125g plain flour
  • 100g sugar
  • 145g butter, room temp
  • teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

FOR THE CHEESECAKE FILLING

  • large apples, cubed
  • tablespoon sugar
  • tablespoon flour
  • teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 400g flavoured yogurt of choice , I used mango and passionfruit (or just use Greek yogurt)
  • 55g sugar
  • egg
  • 30g plain flour

FOR THE CARAMEL

  • 90g caster sugar
  • 50g double cream
  • 17g butter
  1. Preheat the oven to 180C and lightly grease a clipped tin.
  2. In a bowl, mix together the oats, sugar, cinnamon and salt. Rub in the butter with your fingers until crumb-like. Press down 2/3 of the mixture into the bottom of the tin and bake for 10 minutes.
  3. Meanwhile, make the filling. Mix the apples, sugar, 1 teaspoon of flour and cinnamon in a bowl and set aside.
  4. In another bowl mix the yogurt, sugar, egg and the 30g of flour until thoroughly combined.
  5. Pour over the base and the top with the cubed apples and the remaining crumble topping. Don’t worry about pressing it down! Bake for 25-35 minutes.
  6. Remove from the oven and leave to cool completely in the tin. I then left mine in the fridge for another 30-60 minutes until properly set, Remove from the tin when this is done.
  7. For the caramel, heat the sugar with 2 tablespoons of water over a medium heat until the sugar has dissolved. Turn the heat up to high and then let it bubble for 4-5 minutes until golden. Remove from the heat and gently stir in the cream and butter. Pour over the chilled cheesecake and tuck in! (unless you’re on a no refined sugar detox, sorry.)
4 thoughts on “Caramel Apple Crumble ‘Cheesecake’

Leave a Reply

