Banana Bread (again)

DSCF6228

This week has been very banana orientated. I am aware this sounds odd, but let me explain. We have a new Banana Smoothie chocolate at work which I’ve been trying to show off (I like it, it tastes like nana ice cream) but it seems not a lot of people like bananas. You’re all crazy. Not that I’m unashamedly trying to plug our new taste of the month or anything.  I’ve also being trying to inhale the bunch sat in my kitchen that is going INCREDIBLY ripe and an incredible rate. I might have to take a break from them for a while.

I’ve got quite a few banana bread recipes on this blog. I like banana bread. It’s homely and comforting, and it doesn’t have to hide behind frosting and decorations. It’s got no where to hide, but it is almost always good. It’s the sign of a good cake.  My other half asked for this, not specifically this, but for a banana bread. I think he liked it but I can never tell, he never used to say anything so I assumed he hated it all. Now he makes happy noises every time he eats something I make so now I assume he’s doing it to please me. I’ve put him into a catch-22 situation.

DSCF6223

I’ve made it with a slightly nuttier spelt flour and jam packed it with honey roasted nuts and cinnamon sugar, all of which are my favourites. I have a box full of these sweet, slightly spiced, chocolately nuts and they are way too good to stop at a few. They’re not even healthy, I can’t even pretend. The only solution to shoving handfuls into my mouth whenever I get the chance was to bake them into this cake, and I think they go perfectly with the sweetness from the ripe bananas.

DSCF6224

DSCF6226

ORIGINAL RECIPE FROM COOKIE+KATE

  • 1/3 cup melted coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup honey or maple syrup
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 large bananas, mashed
  • 1/4 cup almond milk
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • cinnamon sugar (1 teaspoon cinnamon, 1 tablespoon sugar- adjust to taste)
  • 1 3/4 cups spelt flour
  • 1/2-1 cup honey roasted peanuts and chocolate coated peanuts
  1. Preheat the oven to 165C and line a loaf tin with parchment paper.
  2. Beat together the oil and honey (or syrup, if using) and then add in the eggs. When thoroughly mixed, add the mashed bananas and milk. If your coconut oil starts to solidify, simply warm it up for 10 seconds or place in a warm place until melted.
  3. Add the baking soda, vanilla, salt and cinnamon  and whisk to combine.
  4. Next, stir in the flour with a big spoon until it has just combined. Don’t overmix! If it’s lumpy, it’s fine 🙂 Fold in the nuts gently.
  5. Pour the batter into the prepared tin and sprinkle with the 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon. Swirl through, and bake for 55-60 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean.
  6. Remove from the oven but leave in the tin for 10 minutes before leaving to cool on a wire rack.
  7. Once cooled for 20 minutes, sprinkle over the cinnamon sugar. It should still be warm, but it’s best like that!
4 thoughts on “Banana Bread (again)

  1. you can never have enough banana bread recipes, I have one I keep meaning to share. You have inspired me. This sounds like heaven, I love spelt cakes ❤

Leave a Reply

