Bliss Balls

DSCF6292

First off, let me just say how much I’m loving this weather at the moment. It’s hot!It’s sunny! I will never moan about it simply because it’s been WINTER since forever. It’s July, it’s meant to be this way. However, I am somewhat anxious that this glimpse of summer is exactly that. A glimpse. It’ll probably snow again next week. Fingers crossed that won’t be the case.

I’ve been feeling quite unsettled recently, not exactly with depression or anxiety, just unsettled. I feel like I’ve hit the wall, you know the one with the sign nailed to it asking what you’re doing with your life? It’s not that bad, I know what I want but it’s feels like it’s a bit too far to reach. I’m grasping at it. I can see it, but I’m not quite there yet. Don’t get me wrong here, I don’t exactly have it bad. I’m healthy (mostly), I have a job, I’m not broke. Those are all very good things, a lot of people want that but I want adventure. I want the next chapter in my life. I don’t want to settle into something that’s good, I’d like more. More is scary, but sitting here waiting for something to happen is scarier. Life doesn’t happen that way. Well, maybe for some lucky people, but for the most of us it doesn’t. I want to wake up with lots of things to do, I want to make a home, and then I want to wake up and bask in it all. I want to work hard, I want someplace I can love and cherish no matter what. Does that happen? Do people really love their jobs? I hope so. I want to miss my childhood home, and not rely upon it. I want to be able to hop on over when I feel lonely, but I want the freedom of being able to explore on my own. I want to share it with people that love me. I don’t want to wake up feeling dread, mostly I don’t want to wake up and feel nothing. I also don’t want to catch 100 buses a day to get where I need to be. Now that would be great.

DSCF6293

Lastly, but not least obviously, are these ‘bliss balls’. I like these, I like anything like this. Do you know how many of these types of snacks I buy a week? I can’t even tell you, it’s embarrassing. I don’t know why I keep buying them when I have all the amenities to MAKE them. Maybe it’s all the snazzy packaging. I should start packaging all of my bakes (I am thinking of selling them!) Or maybe it’s the big red discount sticker on the front. Probably.

Anyway, these are super easy to make and they’re yummy and better for you than that bar of chocolate (but you do need that sometimes, just to make your soul feel better).

DSCF6299

DSCF6303

DSCF6304

Untitled

MAKES 12.

  • 115g dark chocolate (I used 80% Vietnam from Hotel Chocolat)
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 3 tablespoons almond milk
  • 1/4 cup sweetener such as honey or agave/maple syrup if vegan
  • 1 tablespoon raw tahini
  • 2-3 tablespoons desiccated coconut
  1. Place the chocolate in a large bowl and set aside.
  2. In a pan over medium heat, combine cinnamon, almond milk and sweetener and bring just to a bowl.
  3. Lower the heat and then whisk in the tahini until combined.
  4. Pour over the chocolate and stir until melted.
  5. Cool down to room temperature before popping into the fridge for a couple hours or until set.
  6. When ready, spoon out and roll into 12 pieces. Roll in the coconut.
  7. Keep in the fridge!

Untitled1

MAKES 12

RECIPE SLIGHTLY ADAPTED FROM WALLFLOWER KITCHEN

  • cup gluten free oats
  • 3 tablespoons raw cacao powder
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 8 medjool dates
  • 1/2 cup cherries in syrup, drained
  • water
  • 70% dark chocolate, melted (optional)
  1. In a blender, pulse the oats and cacao powder together.
  2. Next, add in the vanilla, dates and cherries until it starts to come to together into a ball.
  3. If needed, add a teaspoon of water to help combine the mixture.
  4. Roll a teaspoon of the mixture into balls and repeat to make 12.
  5. Melt the chocolate in a bowl and spoon over a generous amount.
  6. Keep in an air-tight container.

4 thoughts on “Bliss Balls

  1. Lovely post Jenn and reminded me of quite from one of my yoga teachers last week – around too many people just being on the rollercoaster of life and not being brave enough to question whether it feels right – let alone being brave enough to jump off…..sounds like you’re questioning the status quo which is a great place to start!

Leave a Reply

