Vegan ‘Snickers’ Tart

13873053_10154358120259437_5101849758970756325_n

I express my disbelief in how quick time is going in 90% of my posts on here, but I just feel so flabbergasted that it’s already August. HOW? How are we 8 months into the year already? My friend reminded me that it’s only 4 months until Christmas but the thought of that makes my stomach turn a bit. We’ve had 2 weeks of nice weather, the rest has been this never ending cycle of rain and cold and snow. Apparently we’re due a heat wave next week but I’ll believe it when I see it.

August is always a fun month. It’s my birthday towards the end of it which always results in lots of lovely food, drink and an occasional tea party. It’s then my best friends birthday almost the week after and I get to see her lovely face which is very rare these days as she lives by the coast. Chris and I have also booked a very spontaneous holiday to Madrid to celebrate both of our birthdays, which will be at the end September. In between all of that I’m at work, so it’s a very busy few months indeed. But it keeps me occupied, and that’s all that matters. My posts might suffer slightly from all of these shenanigans, but i’ll try my hardest to keep you all updated. You’re just going to have to forgive me!

In the meantime, here’s a very nutty, peanut-buttery dark chocolate tart for you to tuck into 🙂 I found it a while back and couldn’t resist!

DSCF6307

DSCF6308

DSCF6312

Untitled

RECIPE ADAPTED SLIGHTLY FROM ANNIE’S HUNGRY

FOR THE BASE

  • cups of mixed nuts
  • tablespoon coconut oil, melted
  • tablespoon 100% cocoa powder
  • dates

FOR THE FILLING

  • cup dates
  • cup smooth peanut butter
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • sea salt

FOR THE TOPPING

  • cup vegan dark chocolate
  • Lazy Day’s Millionaire’s Shortbread, crumbled (free from)
  1. Blitz all of the ingredients for the a base in a blender until crumbly. Press into the bottom and up the sides of a greased tart tin. Place in the fridge.
  2. Next, blitz the ingredients for the filling the the blender and then spread onto the base.
  3. Melt the dark chocolate, crumble over the shortbread (or any other topping you like) and place in the fridge until set.

2 thoughts on “Vegan ‘Snickers’ Tart

Leave a Reply

