Muesli Loaf

dscf6324

It’s been exactly a month since I posted last. It feels like an actual lifetime since I baked anything, and I’ve been getting that itchy feeling. I’ve been very busy with work and then when I did have a chance to get my bake on I couldn’t. We’ve got SO much cake in the house. Cupcakes, a giant birthday cake and my very own Harry Potter/ Hagrid hybrid cake made by my very own other half. The sweetheart.

I had the loveliest birthday this year. It was relaxed, I caught up with my dearest friends and spent some time with Chris and our new picnic baskets (plural). I got lots of new baking equipment and a few recipes books which I’m very excited to get cracking on! Expect to see more recipes soon. Promise.

This post today has come from Dorset Cereals, The Breakfast Book. Obviously I am a massive lover of breakfast so I couldn’t wait to start making lots of things I wouldn’t normally have. I usually stick to oatmeal, cereal and almond milk, or yogurt with fruit. Allllll very yummy but I need a change. What with it being bread week on GBBO, I decided to go for this lovely little muesli loaf. It’s packed full of plump sultanas and it’s perfect for the upcoming chilly autumn months, especially slathered with butter and jam.

dscf6325

dscf6326

dscf6327

dscf6328

dscf6329

untitled

RECIPE FROM DORSET CEREALS

  • 2 cups muesli
  • 3 cups strong white bread flour
  • 1 teaspoon easy bake yeast
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 1/8 cups tepid water
  • 3 tablespoons clear honey
  • 3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
  1. Mix the muesli, flour, yeast and salt together in a bowl.
  2. Mix the water, honey and melted butter in a jug and then add this to the flour mixture.
  3. If you’re using a mixture with a dough hook, mix for about 3-4 minutes. If you’re kneading by hand then you’ll have to do this on a floured surface for about 10 minutes.
  4. Place the dough in a lightly greased bowl and cover with a damp towel. Leave for 45 minutes or until doubled in size.
  5. Preheat the oven to 200C
  6. Once done, lightly knead and roll into a loaf shape. Place in a loaf tin and bake for 40 minutes until a rich brown colour.
  7. Cool on a wire rack before toasting and buttering.
4 thoughts on “Muesli Loaf

Leave a Reply

