Vegan Turmeric Chickpea Smash for Weekday Lunches

Lunch time is a struggle. First of all it never comes quick enough. I get up hella early and I don’t want to wait until after midday to eat another meal. What’s that about? I have to snack at least twice in that space. I get hangry. I am clock watching like it’s nobodies business. Those are dark times, let me tell you.

You know what I also hate about lunch? I need to plan them. It’s not like breakfast or dinner where you can just open your cupboards and throw something together, no, it’s thinking in advance what I need to take because I’ll most likely be out the house. If I don’t then i’ll have to go out and buy something with money that I can’t afford to throw away on some mediocre, pre-packaged, processed crap. Finding a better quality lunch would cost half the amount of our weekly food shop and I just can’t justify it (unless I’m desperate). Since turning vegan it’s particularly hard to go out and find something because half of my allotted lunch time is spent checking the back of crisp packets just in case they thought milk was an essential ingredient to it’s flavour. I never end up making enough dinner to take for leftovers the next day, so I’ll end up packing a small mountain of carrot sticks and houmous instead. These are foods I love but according to Chris ‘isn’t a proper meal’.

Instead of being really organised and batch cooking lunches for two for the entire week, I found a recipe for chickpea smash via the magic of Pinterest. I really love chickpeas but there was a period at the start of the year where we ate nothing but chickpeas (chickpea curry, chickpea stew, chickpeas with tomatoes etc) but after a break I’m ready to dive back in. I’ve heard chickpea smashes are a great vegan alternative to an egg mayo salad of sorts and that sort of stuff goes great on sandwiches and mixed in salads, both of which are great for lunches. I made a batch mixed with vegan mayo, turmeric, salt and pepper (real quick and simple) and it tasted great. I spread it onto seeded bread, topped with salad leaves and drizzled over some Sriracha and tucked into it the following two days on my breaks. Voila. Lunch done.

 

  • 1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1/3 cup vegan mayo (or normal mayo if you’re not vegan)
  • 1-2 teaspoons turmeric, more or less depending on taste
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  1. Put all the ingredients into a bowl and give it a stir to combine. Mash together but not until completely smooth, you want some coarser bits in there for texture. You could also use a blender.
  2. Use as a sandwich filler or in salads. Cover and keep in the fridge for 2-3 days.
Leave a Reply

