Jammy Crowns (vegan)

It’s been a while since I baked anything. No, I tell lies, I have but the results have been so disastrous that I can’t even bring myself to talk about it. I don’t know why I go through phases of not being able to bake/cook/function but I do and it’s a little frustrating. I used to drive myself mad and I’d weep tears over a batch of freshly undercooked-yet-somehow-burnt cookies but now I don’t really care that much. The longer I feel bitter about it, the more atrocious my creations become. For example, the time I made the batter for two very nice lemon cakes but said batter turned to liquid and seeped through the sides, bottom, and every crevice of the tins whilst in the oven. Yup.

So after a failed lemon poppy seed cake (not the same one mentioned above), a flat-as-a-pancake treacle sponge, muesli bars that didn’t hold together whose remains now live in a bowl on top of the microwave, I decided to try again. Yes, you heard, I can’t even make a batch of flapjacks.  A 5 year old child could do better. I needed a simple recipe and the ingredients needed to be in my cupboard already because going out to spend money of them would preempt a disaster. I flicked through all my saved recipes and found this one by Wallflower Kitchen, something I’ve been wanting to try for a while. It only required 4 ingredients and guaranteed that it would only take 20 minutes, so if anything did go wrong I didn’t waste hours of my life on it.

I haven’t ate Jammy Dodgers in absolutely years. I always loved the crumbly, vanilla biscuit but not so keen on the rock hard strawberry sweet disc in the middle. I ate them anyway, obviously, because what person turns down a biscuit? The ‘jam’ in those things were viscous, I swear I ripped out fillings with them, BUT  being homemade I could control the sweetness and the texture. The recipe calls for raspberry jam but I think they’d taste pretty good with whatever flavour you choose (apricot, anyone?!) They turned out better than I expected giving my record lately, if not a little rustic (I don’t have a heart cutter- cue the knife skills). In fact I ate all the off-cuts in the afternoon with a cup of tea. I may have even dunked them straight into the jam pot. #Animal.

recipe by wallflower kitchen

  • 120g/ 1/2 cup vegan butter
  • 55g/ 1/4 cup caster sugar
  • 180g/ 1 1/2 cups plain flour
  • jam of your choice (I used strawberry)
  1. Cream together the butter and sugar until pale and fluffy.
  2. Add the flour in small batches and mix until smooth. It should ball together. Mine was a little crumbly but I just kept mixing until it came together.
  3. Knead into a ball and place in clingfilm. Refrigerate for 20- 30 minutes.
  4. Preheat the oven to 180C.
  5. Roll out the dough to about 1/2 cm thickness and cut an even amount of cookies. I used crown cutters because what girl isn’t a queen?
  6. Use a small heart cutter to cut out the middles of half of the cookies. I didn’t have one so I had to improvise.
  7. Bake for 10-15 minutes or until a pale brown.
  8. Leave to cool completely before adding the jam and sandwiching the cookies together.
  9. Eat them all.
Leave a Reply

