Cocoa Chip Peanut Butter Banana Bread (ve)

Hold up! I’ve just found the perfect banana bread recipe and I am so happy!

If you read my last post you’d know I’ve had a string of baking disasters recently and I felt a bit disheartened by it. This is why I haven’t been posting much. Everything I bake turns out horrendous. I’ve been telling everyone that I’ve taken a break because I’m a busy woman. In reality it’s because everything I make deserves a home in the bin. I’m still a busy woman but if you love something that much you find the time for it. I haven’t exactly fallen out of love with baking, not at all, but wasting all the time and money on ingredients makes me want to put my little fists through the wall.

This morning, however, was a different story. You know when you wake up with a clear mission? My mission for today was to bake a totally bad ass banana bread that wasn’t going to completely suck.  It was going to rise and it was going to be soft and fluffy. Most, no all, of my loaf cakes have come out resembling pancakes since moving into our apartment and they’ve been stodgy and heavy. Loaf cakes are my ultimate favourite, especially banana bread, so this one had to work or else I was to swear off baking for life (not really but drama). I found an amazing recipe on Pinterest and set to work, throwing in some added cocoa nibs and chopped almonds. I drizzled an all natural peanut butter over the top and left it in the oven for 45 minutes. It rose like a dream, was springy to touch and I knew that I’d broken my disastrous baking streak right there and then.

Vegan or no vegan, this is definitely the best banana bread recipe I’ve come across and I’ve baked a lot of them in my time. It’s so light and is flavoursome without being overpowering. You would never in a million years think that it didn’t contain dairy and you can add in any extras you wish. Obviously Chris and I tucked into a slice which was slathered in yet more peanut butter because can you ever have enough??

original (amazing) recipe from Hell Yeah It’s Vegan!

  • 1/4 cup unsweetened non-dairy milk, I used almond
  • 1/2 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
  • 1/2 cup dairy free butter, I used Flora Freedom
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 3 really ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 cups plain flour (or 1/2 cup plain flour and 1 1/2 cups whole wheat)
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup cocoa nibs
  • handful of almonds, chopped
  • 100% peanut butter
  1. Preheat oven to 170C and grease a loaf tin.
  2. In a small bowl combine the milk and apple cider vinegar and set aside.
  3. In another bowl cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy.
  4. Add the mashed bananas, vanilla and milk mixture and mix together.
  5. In a separate bowl sift the flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon and salt together.
  6. Gently add this to the banana mixture and stir until just combined. Fold through the cocoa nibs.
  7. Pour the batter into the prepared tin and top with a peanut butter swirl and chopped almonds.
  8. Cook for 45 minutes or until a skewer inserted into the middle comes out clean.
  9. Leave to cool before serving.

 

 

 

One thought on “Cocoa Chip Peanut Butter Banana Bread (ve)

Leave a Reply

